Want to See an Ass?

For the eight years that I worked in the middle school I don’t think one day went by that I didn’t tell a young man to “Pull-up” his pants. There was more to it than me just not wanting to see anyone’s underwear. I always felt this look: baggy pants that were somehow supported beneath one’s ass to be a blatant sign of disrespect.

Never mind it being inappropriate basketball attire (I worked in the gym) it was a safety hazard. The boys would be playing B-ball with one hand as the other hand was busy keeping the ass of their pants from roping their ankles.

As the years passed, I figured this need for exposure would fall out of fashion, it being so nonsensical, but it had not. Today, Deshon Marman has brought it into the news as the circumstance which lead to his arrest at a San Francisco airport. The University of New Mexico football player was caught with his ass hanging out after attending a friend’s funeral. It wasn’t mentioned if this had been his funeral attire but it would not surprise me if it were. The griever was arrested. What a shame! Maybe he will finally learn to keep his ass in his pants. I’m not the only one who doesn’t want to see it.

It didn’t seem to matter to the students, who day after day dressed this way and who had to listen to me and countless others tell them to pull-up their pants. But now some one with (real) authority is drawing the line: The waist of the pants needs to be above the ass.

I’ll let you decide… Was Deshon being fashionable or dressed like an ass?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Want to See an Ass?

  1. Woman Wielding Words says:

    I think that next fall I am going to include the following in my syllabi: NO ASSES IN CLASS. IF YOUR PANTS DON’T STAY UP, DON’T ENTER THE CLASSROOM. I wonder if I can get away with that.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Lisa, I can’t wait to hear the outcome of the Deshon Marman case. Should the airline prevail I think teacher’s will gain more power in the classroom.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I don’t get the style at all. I do laugh when I see them scrambling to catch their pants before they hit the ground. Just silly 🙂

Leave a comment