Beach Days

It looks like another beautiful day for the beach, clear blue sky and plenty of heat. I take the cloudy beach days just as well. I’ve also been known to remain on the Florida beaches in the rain. As a visitor to the Treasure Coast I find “Everyday is a beach day.” Okay, I place the exception on torrential down pours, lightning storms and God forbid hurricanes none of which are in the forecast.

Of our beach friends: Helen and Randy and Chris and Sue, Fred and I always are first to arrive and the last to leave although we are not sun worshippers quite the contrary as fair-skinned as we are we hide beneath the umbrella and I’m slathered in sunscreen only to emerge for my trips into the ocean for a swim and relief from the heat and in doing so I have quite the tan going on. Fred likes to get his color all in one day: starting with an unprotected burn he claims will turn into a great tan as a result like me he then has to hide from the sun.

I guess Sue and Chris arriving later in the day have the right idea but for me I want the whole day by the shore. Helen and Randy are sun worshipers Randy with his tropical oils and Helen with her mild SPF’s are both golden-brown and the only ones of our group who look like they really belong having mastered both the sun and the beach.

We are all New Yorker’s. Sue and Chris now permanent Floridian residence. Helen and Randy residence of both states. And Fred and I waiting and hoping to eventually be able to call the Treasure Coast home sometime down the road. We belong here close by the water. For the time being will just enjoy our trips and dream of our future.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Friends, Humor, Life, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beach Days

  1. jannatwrites says:

    The beach and the ocean sound great. It is SO hot right now (every July and August I swear I’m moving, but we always stay.)

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your vacation. Maybe you should move to Florida since you love it so much?

    • Aligaeta says:

      I was seriously looking to buy a second house then the economy crashed. I’ve been looking for work in both New York and Florida hoping to be able to make the leap but fear I’d be making it alone.

Leave a Reply

