Tastefully Dressed

Dressing the salads this summer has become an expensive task as the mayonnaise price is now double what I am comfortable paying. I’m use to waiting for the sale and stocking up when the price falls to $2.50 but that amount seems to be long gone. Hellmann’s mayonnaise is my all time preference, now selling for over $4.50 for 32 oz. (a further insult) they have shrunk that bottle to 30 oz. When I last shopped I bought the store brand’s real mayonnaise, it was close in taste and the price tag was the $2.50 I am comfortable paying for this item. Yet, it bothers me to have to do so and I seem to use more trying to capture the same substance that I’ve grown use to.

I had made my own Thousand Island Dressing using mayo, ketchup, and relish to dress my baby spinach from the garden and it was a big hit. But I felt like I was wasting the expensive mayonnaise. I had given up regularly buying bottled dressings years ago but today finding a variety of dressing on sale with prices ranging from $1.19-$2.50 I decided on making these purchases to assist in dressing my green and pasta salads. The tuna, egg, and potato salads will still get dressed with mayo perhaps an equal mix of the real and what the store calls real.

Today’s dressing purchases:

Of course I will continue dressing my garden salads with various flavors of oil and vinegar but when I am serving, forcing salads on the family daily I have to occasionally be creative with dressings.

I’m not sure if these additional purchases will lessen the cost of dressing my salads but it is a protest against this endless increase in price of Hellmann’s mayonnaise. To not make a change would simply leave a bad taste in my mouth.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tastefully Dressed

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

