Traveling Through the Night

As one might guess a 1200 mile road trip with Fred would leave a story to tell.  Remembering our last trip to Florida and all of the needless hours we sat in traffic through the state of Virginia, Fred suggested we leave New York Wednesday evening instead of Thursday morning. So, we each planned to nap before heading out, although neither of us did.

I calculated our drive and thought it best to leave around 10 pm and if we weren’t out by midnight there was no use in not waiting till morning. Surprisingly enough, we were packed and ready to go at 9pm. An early departure for me is more than unlikely, before this it was unheard of!

I took the first driving shift and Fred the sleeper remained awake beside me for hours. I kept peaking over at him amazed to find his eyes still open as the hours passed knowing for as long as he stayed awake it would mean many more hours for me to drive before giving up the wheel. Finally to my relief, he did manage to doze off a short while, but then stayed awake a few hours longer before dozing off again. I accepted the fact that I’d be the one to drive though Virginia.

I was exhausted come 3am being an 11:00 lights out girl but prodded on. Some time around 4am I woke Fred my traveling companion by driving along the rivets on the shoulder. “What the…” was the start of his sentence. Unfortunately, the bumpy ride also jolted me awake so I drove another hour before giving Fred his turn.

So at 5am Fred started his leg of the journey as the driver mumbling that he had wanted to drive first. I found it funny that he finally mentioned this. I had a half-an-hours nap taking back the wheel from Mr. Grumpy and teased him the next few hours about how hard it must have been for him to have stayed up driving through the night.

It was a smooth trip with no mishaps. I finally relinquished the wheel again the next afternoon allowing the tired man to drive three hours of which I napped a whole 45 minutes before driving again. Teasing Fred about how tired he must have been was my greatest source of entertainment. Twenty-one hours from New York we arrived in Port Saint Lucie, Florida. That night I slept like a baby.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
Gallery | This entry was posted in Humor, Life, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Traveling Through the Night

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’d go mad after twenty one hours in the car. I’m alreay half-crazy, so it’s a good thing we haven’t gone there.

    I’m glad you made it to your destination….I can imagine you did sleep well without the rivets on the shoulder waking you up 😉

    • Aligaeta says:

      I found driving straight through the night to have been less aggravating then sitting in traffic in the heat of the day. Once we got the drive over with it was time for the vacation to begin, where as taking it slow and trying to make the journey part of the vacation doesn’t seem to cut it. This way here is also an extra day for the beach. 🙂 P.S. There were no kids in the car this time.

Leave a Reply

