The Transformation

Just as I was leaving the house this morning I received an unexpected call from my son, Michael the chef.

I had nothing planned for the day. I actually slept-in not waking until nearly 9:00 which is so unlike me. I had first awoke at 5:55 and thought, ‘There is no reason for this.’ Then, I returned to bed hoping to catch another hours sleep. I didn’t mind sleeping in. I did get to see Fred for a minute before he was heading out, but then, there I was with my first cup of coffee alone, missing his company.

There is nothing wrong with some solitude in the morning. I use to welcome the quiet time to read or to write without interruption and still do from time to time, yet this morning instead of appreciating the solitude I felt alone.

I sat at the computer with my hot cup of coffee first checking my email from the earliest received since I had signed off yesterday evening. I felt refreshed having had a good nights sleep. I felt relaxed having nothing immediate to attend to. I found an email of an event posted to my facebook account from my son, Michael. It was a grand opening invitation. Michael is part of a team that is going over to open the new Chipotle Grill restaurant in Mineola, NY.

I was surprised to see this invitation. I didn’t know he expected me to be there. ‘Well, if he wants me to be there to support him I should go. Oh my God, it’s today.’ I looked down at my nails, unpolished was the least of my problems, the stains of black dirt from gardening were embedded ‘how long will I need to scrub before they come clean? I can’t return to civilization looking like this!’

I felt quite discussed with myself to have not scrubbed clean. When, yesterday when I through with my gardening? Last night, after returning from working to clean out the basement in Fred’s house? How about… before I retired to bed last night? I didn’t fall right to sleep. In fact, I stayed awake in bed watching a movie for two hours, now you would think with that second wind I’d have come down and scrubbed up. I must have washed my hands a dozen times since coming in from the garden yesterday but the nailbrush, beside the soap at the bathroom sink I hadn’t bothered to use.

How does one slide from the grooming routines established over a life time? Okay, I have never been diligent with mani’s or pedi’s but now I’m sliding with cleanliness? I must have wasted a good twenty minutes thinking about this, wasting precious time before the caffeine took effect and I thought about the box of hair dye beneath the sink that I should have used two weeks ago but was saving, waiting to have a scheduled job interview that has yet to happen.

I clicked the RSVP as a maybe went into the bathroom to look in the mirror. ‘Who is this woman?’ I turned on the water, soaped up the nailbrush, and began to scrub. ‘What will I wear? What will I find that’s presentable and that still fits?’ After scrubbing until my nails and cuticles came clean I rushed to the bedroom to find an outfit, a nice pair of slacks now where’s that shirt. Ugh, I don’t have time for this ironing. Oh, there’s the denim capris I’d been looking for, now for a top: that one works. The right bra, okay it’s here.

I stopped by the computer to post on the invitation site: “Heading down to the opening would anyone from the Warwick area like to drive down with me?”

I turned on the shower and while undressing and waiting for the hot water I dialed my sister’s number. ‘Maybe Diane would like to go? Someone else might be there to catch the kids as they get off the bus.’ It just rang and rang then went to lost call. ‘Her answering machine must be full.’ I dialed and let it ring out again before hanging up and getting into the shower. ‘My hair better at least come out good. Long Island face. I should have gotten new foundation to blend with my farmgirl tan. I’ll just put it on real thin.’ Wash, shampoo, condition, shave.

‘How did I become such a mess? You’d think this kid would have given me some notice? Sarah is in Albany today for her physical. I had that on my mind. That’s how I had forgotten Wednesday’s Michael’s grand opening. Katie would like to go. So would Megan and Melissa. Too late, too late, just get ready. It’s almost 11:00. It will be 12:30 at the earliest before I get down there or more like 1:00. Do I go east or west from the Willis Avenue exit?’ He didn’t list the street number on the address.

Dry, make-up, dress, scrunch, blow, and spray hair, posted “I am heading out!” onto the invitation site, and then poured a fresh cup of coffee for the ride and grabbed my shoes and my bag. I got as far as the porch when my cell phone started singing. I grabbed it, looked, “Michael”.

“I saw you were heading out. I was wondering why no one was posting they were coming. I’m glad I caught you. I posted the wrong date. The opening is next Wednesday.”

Don’t you just love those relaxing mornings?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Transformation

  1. Alexis says:

    Leave it to Michael to put the wrong date on the invitation and make you go nuts for a few hours!!!! LOL If you want to go next week I’m in!

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Aw, that’s too bad, all that cleaning up and primping for nothing! Since you have another week until the real opening, maybe you can find someone to go with you now.

  3. Aligaeta says:

    Being that I was all ready to go down Michael did invite me to come spend his day off with him. Unfortunately, I had to choose going this week or next and declined his offer. Alexis, Michael girlfriend read the post and will be joining me on the trip down next week. Gee, a weeks notice gives me time to plan that mani and pedi and even a hair dye!

Leave a Reply

