Picking Up the Pieces

My days have been very busy preparing to move into Fred’s house, taking care of the garden, and the endless job search. In this warmer weather I thought that the physical work should be done early and then later in the day I’d find time to blog but this has not been the case. It seems I’ve been occupied with the other tasks well into the evening and my days are busier than I thought imaginable.

It’s difficult sometimes returning to his house of ruins: the house he had shared with his wife, a house neglected. Then, I watch as he approaches this endeavor anew, filled with pride and ambition building a life for us while rebuilding this family home for his children and I am motivated to do my part as I should beside him. The restoration of the home and his reclamation as the man of the house is a wonderful transformation to see. It has been a healing. And although initially difficult this is becoming an exciting journey.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picking Up the Pieces

  1. jannatwrites says:

    It sounds like you are living a good busy. The transformation in both the house and Fred sound positive as well. I hope you are able to put your mark on the place so it doesn’t feel like you are living in his ex-wife’s house. Good luck with the move!

    • Aligaeta says:

      Thanks Janna. Were starting off with an empty house to furnish with my things and then some new, fresh paint, and new flooring. Last week I hauled out the trash she left behind and we’re repairing and replacing appliances as we go along. Seeing the neglected home as remnants of the marriage is all that’s left of the ex and is disappearing through his dedication to start anew.

Leave a Reply

