Waiting

I feel like most of my time I spend waiting. Waiting for that great job posting to apply. Then I wait again for a reply. I wait for the crops to grow and then for them to produce. I have found several jobs good enough to apply to and even some great posts for positions I truly desire yet interviews have been scare with there being so many other applicants to compete with. I’ve been harvesting very young heads of lettuce as I tire of the wait and like the number of applicants I am yielding a terrific lettuce crop.

As for the potatoes, as anxious as I am the early harvest isn’t ready. It isn’t due for another few weeks, yet I had to peek, sneaking under the plant feeling around finding fooseball size spuds I need to let grow as specified another two weeks.

A few days ago I thought I spotted a flower on the sweet pea pod crop but it’s not there and I continue to wait anticipating their growth, and then the pods, and then their sweet crunch.

In the meantime I weed, I water, and I continue to clear the land and plant the next crop. Then I sit and wait. I search the internet for jobs near and far, I apply with a nice cover letter and an updated resume, and again I wait.

When the prospective employer asks what I have been doing since leaving my last job I can’t very well tell them all that I have done, nor can I tell them what I do most.

Could you imagine me sitting across from an interviewer and giving the reply, “I’ve been waiting.”

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Humor, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting

  1. jannatwrites says:

    It looks like you don’t have too much longer to wait, at least for your crops. As for the interviews, anything you’ve done for personal, educational, or career development is much better than telling them you’ve been waiting (or that you watched Oprah everyday but are now at a loss for how to spend your time.)

    • Aligaeta says:

      Oh Janna you are so funny. As twenty-four years went by with me either too busy with parenting, homemaking, schooling, or working to catch more than a hand full of Oprah episodes it had been a real treat to finally start watching her program just as it came to an end, but that will be our secret.

  2. clarbojahn says:

    You say you’ve been waiting, and you have, for a job and crops but most of your life you’ve been too busy for a little day time TV. So have you thought of volunteering somewhere, where you can use your skills? It may make the interview less embarrassing. Last winter I mentored fourth grade students with reading and math. It bought me a critique for my children’s book by the teacher.
    I’m retired and don’t have the time restraints you may have.
    Good luck in the job search.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Volunteering is a wonderful suggestion but it is a commitment that I would hate to start and then have to leave when it comes time to work for pay. I would love to work with the ambulance corp.: regaining my cpr and first aid certifications and serving the community.

Leave a Reply

