A Purposeful Life

Gail, a nurse I used to work with would say, “It’s a new day; another chance to excel!” and I would feed off her optimism. Now, I see today as a slice of life: a day to live and do with it what I will.

One would think not having a job avails me the freedom to do as I please. Although I find being unemployed, living within frugal means limits such freedom. If I didn’t have goals to work toward my life would be without meaning. I couldn’t imagine living without a sense of purpose.

Yesterday, I spent a good part of the day working in the garden weeding. I weeded until my body ached and then I weeded some more. Nothing new got planted. No section of the garden was expanded. It was a maintenance day and today may be an extension of that: vital to the grand scheme of things.

Being an organic gardener, weeding needs to be done otherwise the weeds will overwhelm the crop. I look out see more of the garden to be weeded. This tedious maintenance is calling me once again. I could either become overwhelmed or approach the task moving onto that next section on this new day. I need to look beyond the task of weeding to the greater picture: the pride of the garden, crops to market.

I am also an aspiring freelance writer learning the business. I have to look at researching the writing industry the same way as I look at the chore of weeding . Research is maintenance without glory. The word count doesn’t grow. It is not a draft rewrite bringing me one step closer to publication. Understanding the industry is a vital component for the freelance writer, like weeding is to raising a garden. Surely, I could just attend to the craft of writing and I could garden without weeding but not if I have the aspiration to bring something to market!

Today is “another chance to excel!” I will continue reading The ASJA Guide to Freelance Writing and be back out to the garden to weed. After all a slice of life is part of the whole to which I attend each day and each task with a sense of purpose.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Purposeful Life

  1. heikoworld says:

    So there is no mention about the job, did you get it or not.
    Sorry to be so straight forward but I have been waiting.

    Now I have just read this that you posted
    “If I didn’t have goals to work toward my life would be without meaning. I couldn’t imagine living without a sense of purpose.”

    Thats how I have lived my life and it has served me well, I have to have a sense of purpose and goals.
    Let me tell you at the age of 15, I am now retired, I set myself some goals and ambitions to be completed, not easy ambitions, last Saturday 7 May 2011 I finished a course and now I am a fully fledged Radio Presenter, that was the last on the list, now I am totally satisfied.
    I am on the radio as a Presenter 5 times a week and the rest of my time is spent researching for the next programme. Do I Feel Satisfied With My Life, YES I DO!

    Heiko

    • Aligaeta says:

      Well Heiko, we have to wait another week. They are interviewing two days next week Monday and Thursday before making a decision. I know from your comment you were thinking it was this Thursday and I was wishing you were correct but that wasn’t going to make it happen any sooner.

      I am happy to hear from your experience that my approach toward the day with “goals” and “purpose” has brought you satisfaction and success in life. Good luck to you as a Radio Presenter!

  2. jannatwrites says:

    It’s good that you have goals so that you make use of your time rather than let it slip away. It sounds like you are certainly keeping busy!

Leave a Reply

