What Career?

I have a job interview today. The last thing I want is to walk in there filled with negativity not knowing when the next opportunity for employment will come. Most employment prospects I have applied for are positions beneath me, steps on a rung climbed long ago. I’d have to look way back to the 1980’s, before I received any college credits and when I lacked experience, to come to a time when my earning were as little as these other positions pay.

As my unemployment benefits are winding down should I seem elated being considered for a position earning $10,000 less than my last position? Should I cling to the hope that having also sent my resume, I will receive a call for another position, an ideal position, more suited to my career track? I generally make faces, expressing disbelief blowing the interview for the crappy paying jobs. I wonder will I be doing this again today?

I don’t know what I will hear in todays interview. I might be pleasantly surprised hearing the position has less than, yet adequate pay. This position appears to be a lateral move, certainly worthy of consideration. I prefer when the HR representative discloses salary when setting up the interview so I can weigh whether or not to burn the gas or apply my make-up and dress the role before wasting their time and mine.

What have I been doing all this time since last employed? I have many things on the burner; crops to raise, harvest, and sell. I have my freelance writing aspirations. The writers workshop has concluded and I am seriously exploring how to begin this new career. I am planning to crochet and sell items on Etsy come fall. My fingers have been quite busy; sowing, weeding, crocheting, and typing essays!

And now it is time to play the role of the unemployed career woman with much to offer this non-profit organization, knowing if this opportunity is not suited for me other possibilities await.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Career?

  1. Lisa says:

    Eileen, I would like to refer you to my post the other day, the one about not being defined by your job or title. In some ways I would love to have a job that just helps me pay the bills and does not increase my stress level. I’m not saying settle, but remember that no job is forever. If you need to take this one now, even if does not match your dream job, do so. That will take the stress of where the next paycheck is coming from off of you and allow you to continue to grow in ways that are important. Every job has something to teach, and you never know where something can lead. (Listen to me being all sensible, why can’t I do that for myself?)

Leave a Reply

