Dazzle Them

Yes, I believe I dazzled them on the interview. Arriving in the less than professional interview attire because this is not an office job, it’s a human service position for the creative minded individual who is confident and thinks out of the box. I surprised them initially sporting my personality and then pull them into a world of hope that has no barriers that only I can offer their clients. I ran the interview painting a world that’s engaging. The only thing standing in the way is money.

“It’s hard to get that kind of money in this field, but not impossible.” I was told.

“I have a lot to offer with my experience and education.” I assured them.

By the end of the interview, I had them agreeing I shouldn’t have to settle. This doesn’t mean they will be able to come back with an adequate offer but the tattooed woman, my would be boss was impressed by my confidence and vision. She wants what I have to offer.

They have two more days of interviewing. They cannot make an offer until after “Thursday”. They may have to settle for someone who sports a suit jacket instead of a vision. I’ll know Thursday.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dazzle Them

  1. Lisa says:

    Good for you for dazzling them!

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Thanks Lisa. I told them what I had to offer and when they asked my salary requirements I told them what it cost. The money shouldn’t be my problem. I have a service to offer and I know what I am worth. I shouldn’t have to market myself by the bare minimum it costs to live in order to gain employment.

  3. heikoworld says:

    Well that sounded like a good interview, your right to say you should not have to market yourself to any bare minimum.
    Seems to me like you where up front , I have found by being this way got me a long way, although things are a lot different where you are, saying that, I convinced Fox Television they should take me (I was freelance) and I was told some time later thats what got me the work from here in the UK to Fox TV in New York City.
    I am going to look foward to your posting Thursday or Friday.
    I hope the outcome is positive.

    Heiko

  4. jannatwrites says:

    Yay! I’m glad you have a good feeling about your interview. I’m curious how the money talk will work out. Even if they can’t offer you what you were asking, I’d think they should respect the fact that you could speak up and communicate your wants.

    You may not be wearing a button-up suit, but I happen to like your outfit (I assume that is you in the picture.) Out here in the west, that is business attire. You should see our casual dress 😉 It’s sad when HR has to specify that you can’t wear rubber flip-flops or sweat pants to work…come to think of it, they didn’t mention pajamas…

    I hope it works out for you!

    • Aligaeta says:

      In NY the interview dress code includes a jacket. It is quite the conservative look. I always interview in a print skirt and blouse, never a button down, never a suit jacket. Because the positions I am applying for are in human service I dress approachable.

      Thanks for your good wishes!

  5. Aligaeta says:

    I have been informed they have chosen another candidate.

Leave a Reply

