Thinning Out

Yes, I am thinning out! All this gardening is getting me into shape. There is no scale in the Aligaeta house. So, I can’t tell you how many pounds I’ve knocked off, only that my clothes are fitting me better and there is less excess to grab.

But I really want to tell you about the garden. As Joe and I were planting the lettuce, tiny little seeds that they are, too much spilled out along the row. And just look at that beautiful mix! Wanting medium-sized heads, I’ve separated some clumps along the row, transplanting about 80 seedlings giving them room to grow in other areas of the garden. There is probably still 500 or so heads squished along the row.

I do this also, just in case Mr. Woodchuck finds the main row and chomps it down, I have the lettuce scattered elsewhere (hidden?). Each year Woody finds his way to my garden. I try to plant enough for both his family and mine. I’m looking forward to my gourmet salad blend, as I am sure he is too.

I’ll never forget the year Woody mowed down my pea plants. I ripped out half of what was left of the crop in anger before I realized it would still grow and produce. And the remaining half did produce a lovely bunch of peas. I have already my second planting of peas and they have sprouted. I planted three weeks behind the first planting for a continual harvest.

The green beans I’ve already planted three times and it seems like I will be harvesting one large green bean crop all at the same time because cold weather planting stunted their growth. Nothing came up, so I planted again. But they were just delayed. Now, all the plants are the same size. It’s a good thing everyone loves green beans.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

