My Garden

I’ve been so tired. The stress has taken me down or it is what has been driving me to be productive, physically exhausting myself, in hope of producing, an extraordinary crop to sell. Yet, I do not have a plan to open a farm stand and therefore, come up empty when I think about the harvest and how to transform my crop to cash. I guess what stands in my way is my lack of experience. I fear the elements, too much rain or not enough, will hinder its yield.

I keep thinking, I’ll work real hard, then the full-time job will come and take me away from my garden. That all my hard work will be lost to the accumulation of weeds getting ahead of me, overtaking the garden. Yet, I persevere.

I kept from writing about the garden, these past ten days, discouraged and embarrassed by the weeds, that had grown in the paths, between my rows. They have creeped up from beneath the laid mulch. I saw them coming. I could not wish them away. The weeds grew taller while I cleared more land, needing to plant, more and more potatoes, before they rotted in the box, they were delivered in. All the while I argue with myself, how many potatoes do I really need? Will I come up with a plan to sell them? Will the beetles destroy the crop this year? I can remember years ago, having to bang the beetles from the leaves into a coffee can, hoping the potatoes grew enough before the beetles killed the plants.

They say, farmers are the biggest gamblers. There are lots of weeds (the grass looking stuff in the rear of the photo.) As of a few days ago the weeds had taken over. Removing them has consumed most of these past few days and gaining control of the situation is on the calendar, as a top priority. It’s difficult to tell from the above photo, but my: spinach, lettuce, peas, and my potatoes are coming up nicely, as respectfully shown below.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Garden

  1. Lisa says:

    Enjoy the journey. You will figure it out.

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Thanks Lisa 🙂

  3. jannatwrites says:

    This garden is symbolic of life itself: no matter how hard you try, failure is a possibility, but if you don’t try at all, it’s a certainty.

    The way I see it, worrying about what will happen in the coming weeks/months won’t change the outcome at all. (Fear is sneaky that way – it worms its way into our thoughts and paralyzes us.) The energy is better spent tending to the needs of the garden. If full-time work does come up, then the garden will still get by with whatever time you can devote to it. Good luck 🙂

  4. Aligaeta says:

    I love your wisdom!

Leave a Reply

