Hope

I’m an hour and fifteen minutes Northwest of Midtown Manhattan, instead of thirty-five minutes from the east, yet, I find reason to travel more into the city now than ever before. Isolated as I am in the land of unemployment I search for culture, stimulating interaction, life beyond that of plants, dog’s barking, and cow’s mooing. There is only so much social media one can stand. I’ve long ago became bored by blurbs of status, photo’s, game stats, and let’s pull up songs from the past.

Though the posts on WordPress I’ve been entertained by the humorous, sometimes serious insights of society across our nation of which I often contribute, however less frequently as of late. I’ve become discouraged as I wait and see the continual false starts to the state of the economy, the tenth’s of a percentage point unemployment changes from week to week in either direction, the resumes typed and sent that go unacknowledged. I long to change my circumstance and wonder if increased knowledge will make the difference? It hasn’t thus far.

Write, write, write. Can I write myself out of this nightmare? How about if I write, crochet, and sow? Juggle my various hobbies/talents to market and annoy people with my solicitation for survival? As pathetic as that sounds will it prove to be anything more than further embarrassment as my modest place in the world crumbles?

Nonsense! Manhattan offers exposure. The opportunity to network. I convinced myself that it is the opportunity to be seen, to be heard, to be read, to learn and to expand my craft as a writer in one of the greatest cities on earth. It is the opportunity to grab the ear of a mentor, even when its cost might be my final investment to my craft. Hope is only an hour and fifteen minutes away. I wonder how long can hope sustain me?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hope

  1. I’m closer, about 45 minutes north, and have to force myself into the city (and not work at home all the time, as a writer.) Every time I do, I come home happier and more inspired. I find face to face conversations fun and nourishing — online, as you say, gets really old.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Hi Caitlin, Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m so inspired to read of your success in the industry. As your photo shot is so familiar I know I’ve been to your site before and I’ll be subscribing as to keep up with you as you experience the world wind of success coming your way with your most recent book. I’m just starting out and hope to start publishing some of my personal essays. I’ve spent too many years being distracted from my dream.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Hope will sustain you as long as you allow it to. Hope gives you the strength to work hard and pursue your dream. Without hope, there is no point to anything – so you have to allow yourself hope, as it is the one thing your circumstances can’t take away from you.

    Good luck 😉

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Despair has a way of draining hope. It is good that you are conscious of it so you can avoid it. I’m glad my words helped (and that your hope is stronger than it was yesterday.)

Leave a Reply

