Now, it is Spring!

It has been three weeks since I began clearing the land to plant the garden, winter temperatures returned and with that snow, delaying an early planting. Now, with winter and it’s freezing temperatures behind us in the Lower Hudson Valley it is time to sow the early crops.

Yesterday, with the help of Fred’s eleven year old son Joseph the spinach, a gourmet lettuce mix, green beans, peas, basil, beets, and carrots were planted in the first six rows. We were careful to bag worms for fish bait as we went along. There should always be a reward for the little helper.

In the rear rows I am going to be planting my potato starters later today if I have the energy. I’ve been very busy earlier today as I continue to clear the land and prepare the new rows. I hope to have the garden rows symmetric for thinning and/or repeat planting of the crops two weeks from now. I’ll wait to see how the seeds I’ve planted germinate. I’m not use to having such a late start to the season and with the warmer temperature so quickly upon us, I am anticipating a excellent yield particularly for the carrots and beets.

The mulch between the rows should help to make maneuvering throughout the garden and the weed maintenance manageable. I don’t use any weed killer in my garden, I try to be organic, although I don’t go as far as paying extra for seeds with such certification. The mulch also serves as a place to sit beside while sowing the seeds. There is only so much stooping I can do in one day.

In this fertile black dirt I didn’t need to add any supplements, although having some ash saved from the fireplace I did sprinkle the soil before planting the peas, it being said that wood ash sweetens the peas.

Sarah called from college, to remind me to trim back my raspberry bushes as they were out of hand land year and she prides herself as the raspberry picker. As there are many tasks at hand here on my little farm, I need to use these early days of spring wisely to ensure our bountiful harvest and not to upset any willing helper.

When it is time to rest, I’ll be on the porch.

Has your Spring begun?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Now, it is Spring!

  1. Our spring has begun in earnest. Thankfully we had rain this morning. It was almost 90 yesterday. It’s not fun thinking of turning on the AC this early.

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Yesterday it was 55′ and today we hit 80′, back to normal for the rest of the week.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    You’ve got quite a bit of farm space…nice! I like the cheery colors of your house, too.

    I think this week may be spring. (We hit 100 degrees a week and a half ago, and then we were down to highs in the low sixties over the weekend). The nice temperatures won’t last much longer, so we enjoy it!

    • Aligaeta says:

      Thanks Janna, when I painted the trim salmon, my sister-in-law called to say “Now, that’s a house of a woman with no man to answer to!”

      I hope you enjoy your mild Spring temperatures while they last.

  4. cindydyer says:

    Aligaeta,

    Thank you so much for your comment on my gardenmuse.wordpress.com site! You’ve made my evening! If you want to see other photographs (and not just gardening), I post everything on my main blog (including portraits, travel, crafts, etc.) at http://www.cindydyer.wordpress.com. You’ll see the same gardening photos there that are on my gardenmuse site. Thanks for visiting and thanks for the comment. 🙂

    How much land do you have? I’d love to have that much room to garden in—squeezing all that I grow in a front and backyard of a townhouse is a challenge—but somehow I manage.

    I’m bookmarking your site—always interested in fellow writers and their journey toward being published and making a living with words.

    Cindy

    • Aligaeta says:

      Cindy,

      Oh, excellent! I will be checking out your other site. I’ve been admiring your work for a few weeks now and just had to comment seeing that little spider on that delicate flower.

      I only have 1/3 acre but there is a whole acre in front of my house that belongs to the neighbor that if I don’t work the land it will be horrendous to look at and quite buggy, as they have no interest and have welcomed me to use it.

      I look forward to having you return to my blog. I love comments, they inspire me to keep writing.

  5. Pingback: Carpet of Snow Emerge in Rows « Goldie's Garden

Leave a Reply

