Garbage, Gloom, and Reclaiming Space

As I look around at some of my favorite blogs, today’s theme seems to be “Garbage”. This has been helped by the A to Z challenge and it being “G” day. However, it is the start of spring or another start to spring as the weather has teased us, being uncooperative up until now in the Northeast with its unseasonably cool temperatures, delaying the sowing of seeds and the opening of windows, instead of spring cleaning or as I refer to it: garbage removal, I’ve been left with increased gloom.

Spring out of the house! The first thing I want is to get out from these walls of isolation and confinement; breathe in the fresh air and extend my living space. I need to create a space for reprieve and leisure and this means: cleaning the porch.

Two weeks ago, I began clearing the garden, preparing for spring. I felt a sense of accomplishment as I was going along preparing rows, however, when it came time to rest amid this physical exertion, I was limited to the stoop as the rest of the porch was cluttered with garbage, tools, gas cans, a variety of plastic containers mostly empty of their pesticides, and demolition scraps from winter projects left behind, leaving me disheartened and overwhelmed. I can’t sit amongst such clutter. I didn’t put this crap here. There is a shed.

My disgust was dismissed and the clutter justified, remained. Like other things in life, I’ve accepted: If I wanted something done about it, it was up to me. So once again with bitterness, I picked up after the men in my life and reclaimed my porch. Let spring begin.

Today’s Related Posts of Inspiration:

G is for (G)not Posting Garbage « Woman Wielding Words

The Springtime Guide to Decrapification « The Big Sheep Blog

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Garbage, Gloom, and Reclaiming Space

  1. bigsheepcommunications says:

    Hey, you decrapified the porch so now you get to control who gets to enjoy the porch (a la the little red hen). Thanks for the ping!

    • Aligaeta says:

      I got as far as the start to your second paragraph and was so inspired to write this blog. Loved your language usage! I’ll be ready sitting with the shotgun should the garbage dumpers arrive.

      • bigsheepcommunications says:

        My crap will be gratified to know that it could be such an inspiration.

  2. Lisa says:

    Thanks for the ping and the link to another fabulous blogger.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Decluttering always feels nice. And yes, I think you are within bounds to shoot the offenders, should they try to dump again 🙂

Leave a Reply

