Bullying and Social Media

I was never one for photos. I didn’t own a camera till a few years ago, when I finally purchased a $100.00 digital. I took three pictures with it and left it in the car for the batteries to rot. You see, I always had trouble with my vision and to look through the camera’s lens knowing it was me that wasn’t focused pissed me off caused me great frustration.

I do enjoy seeing old photos, especially the one’s of my children, nieces, and nephews, as they were growing up, before any of them were tormented by someone else’s ‘little angel’.

The subject of “bullying” is a hot topic in the news lately and a subject I’ve given great thought to over the years, as my own children struggled. It’s one thing to be an outcast as I was growing up, being the kid wearing glasses and it’s quite another to be bullied, being a sensitive child, I don’t know how I would have endured.

I made a terrible mistake in seventh grade. I went with a bunch of girlfriends to the county park. My best friend at the time didn’t bring her bicycle, I don’t recall how it is she got there. Some of the girls went off for a ride and she took my bike, it was a brand new Schwinn 10-speed I had gotten for my birthday and when she brought it back my gears were stripped. I got off the bike and slugged her. That was the end of my friendship with the entire group from across town.

Then, I started hanging out down the block from my house at the South Village Green. I had my share of fights with other girls, one-on-one, in my middle school years. I don’t know what we were fighting about but I did hold my own, it passed, and we were friends there after, although we hung out less come our High School years.

As I got older, I was spending most of my time with one of my two very close friends, that is when our time wasn’t occupied with our boyfriends or I wasn’t driving around with the older boys in their cool cars, late night to Burger King or cutting out of school to cruse down to Jones Beach.

Finding your place, your social group throughout adolescence can be difficult and lonely at times. Feeling rejected can be painful. It is also painful to watch as your children go through this and even worse when you know they are being bullied in school where they need to be and where they should be safe. What’s most disturbing is finding out that a teacher or administrator is orchestrating anti-social behavior, tormenting the child with ADD, or ADHD, because they are different or they are more difficult to engage.

In today’s schools, the sensitive child is called, “Emo” and taunted to “Cut themselves”. Their peers encourage them to, “End it.”, to cut short their “miserable life”. How can you blame them for not wanting to go to school? How do you mend their broken spirit?

When I opened a Facebook account some time ago, I found people I don’t remember, sending me friend requests. Is this everyone chance to redo their past? Friends of Friends are posting photos from our childhood, there were class pictures, I thought to browse.

Now, it is one thing to scratch out the faces of those you don’t like when you are eight years old, it is quiet another issue to post your evil spirit on Facebook forty-years later. Have you no shame? To further add insult to injury… was the comment of her family member, most likely an older sister:

“love the scratch out, hope they not on facebook lmao”.

Proud to say they are not my Friends. I left out their names to spare them any embarrassment, although they don’t appear to have developed a conscience or the ability to write a simple sentence. This post will, however, be linked on Facebook.

How do we as a civilized society end bullying?

Feature Image: lisarussell.org


About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bullying and Social Media

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh that made me sad, and mad, and frustrated. Grrrr! Someone in my theater appreciation class said that we should only do things about bullying for kids, but I disagree. Adults are the biggest bullies, they are just a tad more sophisticated about it.

Leave a Reply

