The Greatest Gift

Of all the wonderful things that happened yesterday, on my birthday I want to focus on my girl, Dana, with the pink streaks in her long brown hair, a pre-teen that has a special place in my heart. I swiped this photo from one of the 481 shots, she has on her Facebook page. This one makes her look more grown-up, she’s really a little girl at heart.

I don’t know which of my sister’s children initiated the card making, I received lovely, age appropriate cards from each of them.

Dana’s accompanied a beautiful miniature rose bush I’m sure she personally picked out. She delivered it to me with a warning to be careful, as it had pinched her.

I had spoken with Dana earlier in the day when my sister called to send happy birthday wishes and each of the children had gotten on the phone to do the same.

I was thrilled to hear they wanted to come over later in the day. When they arrived it was still daylight and they were able to see all the work I had done clearing the garden and preparing the rows. I asked Dana if she’d like to come back in a few week to help me plant seeds and she got very excited.

She shared with me her memory of working in the garden with her dad. I am happy to be able to help her keep his memory alive through time shared in the garden.

I look forward to the greatest gift: time spent with loved ones.

How do you share your love with the next generation?

 

Heart Image: allison-hochgraef.com

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Greatest Gift

  1. Lisa says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! It sounds like it was a great day.

Leave a Reply

