Money Can’t Buy Happiness

It was not being unemployment that was depressed me. It was waking up feeling my life had lost its purpose. I quickly decided that I needed to return to college, to finish up my Bachelor Degree, initially thinking: This will make me more marketable.

Returning to college was the best decision I could have made. Each day, for the entire length of the semester my life was once again filled with meaning. I once again had an identity. I was a student.

I had worked in the field of Mental Health as an Activities Director, developing and facilitating programs to enrich the lives of adults within the residence who struggled day-to-day with symptoms associated with their illnesses and disorders coupled by the frustrations of their limitations to lead productive, independent lives. To engage them enriched my own life.

Upon commencement last spring I was filled with hope, in addition to my AA degree and my years of experience working in both adult’s and children’s programs, I now held a BA with a double major in English and Sociology, qualified for positions in local, state, and federal employment. Go me! It is quiet unfortunate that the cutbacks in government spending effected the employment for such programs and here I am spending my limited resources applying for positions that won’t be filled.

Getting back to feeling a sense of purpose… When my children were young being their mother was very fulfilling. I felt quite fulfilled being a student, studying the many disciplines: philosophy, sociology, psychology and applying what I learned to great literature and life experience. I loved developing papers that applied thoughtful insight to social problems. As I let each enrollment period for graduate school pass by, I reassess where it is I am going and what do I do with all of this knowledge, and the answer remains the same. I’m going to do what it is that I love: I’m going to write.

What will I write?

Well, as I’ve been assessing the mess of my blog I’ve noticed I write about a lot of different things, so much so that I began questioning whether this is fair to my readers; some who are expecting posts on parenting adult children and family, others maybe expecting posts on mental health, then there are many of you who will be reading the length of this particular post interested in this writer’s journey. I hope you are pleased.

And it goes on… I also write about issues pertaining to the sorry state of our economy, unemployment, and making ends meet in these difficult times, which sometimes veers off to food: eating wise and affordably. And soon, I plan on bringing my readers into my vegetable garden through the planting and harvesting seasons, there is so much to look forward to and get excited about.

But this post is supposed to be about happiness… As the title indicates it is something you cannot buy. Happiness comes from feeling a sense of purpose: identifying your passions and setting goals on their attainment. It is said, you should write about what you know. I know a lot about a lot of things, although some of my children might say, I don’t know shit.

So, I will continue to write about a lot of things. I hope to keep your interest and continue to open the readers mind to an expansive view of society. As I am serious about this pursuit, I am enrolled in a workshop beginning in April, for writing articles to get published. I hope you’ll wish me happiness!

Have you thought about your sense of purpose?

What does happiness mean to you?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Money Can’t Buy Happiness

  1. Lisa says:

    I, for one, applaud your decision to write about the varied topics and ideas that interest you! Our experiences are similar in the sense that only now that my son is grown and the everyday meaningfulness of active parenting is behind me, am I seeking and discovering meaning in other aspects of my life, especially writing.

    As Elizabeth Gilbert would say, Ole to you!

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Thank you, Lisa.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Hey, it’s your blog, so you should write what you feel inclined to write 🙂

    I think happiness comes from the inside. “Things” (possessions and money) don’t make me happy – they can bring me pleasure or make me comfortable, but happiness is independent of them.

Leave a Reply

