Wrapped in Momma’s Love

Sarah knocked on the bedroom door this morning to say her good-byes. There, in the doorway she stood with her new scarf wrapped around her neck and a big smile on her face. She is having breakfast as planned with friends before driving back up to college.

Yesterday she said, “This has been my best break!” I can feel some personal satisfaction as this time I’m not feeling, now she’s gone and we didn’t spend any time together. We had our usual time between her meeting up with the friends but more importantly we had our date just the two of us, in NYC. Parent-Child Dates | Aligaeta’s Blog

When she walked in the house nine days ago wearing the colorful scarf that I crocheted for her when she was home for the holidays, she told me, “Mom, I love this scarf. I wear it almost every day!” It means so much to me, before she goes out she wraps herself in momma’s love.

Monday morning, the day of our trip, came with little sleep for her as she was out late the night before and then awoken to a furnace malfunction: the banging of pipes, the spraying of steam and hot water from the relief valve on the expansion tank behind the wall, followed by the smoke alarm sounding. It was not a good start of the day. But it was our day and we got ready refreshing ourselves with cold water, hoping that upon our return home Fred would have everything returned to order.

Although Monday was a nicer day than most this winter: a sunny day with the temperature above freezing, no snow, no sleet, no rain, of which we had had plenty of, although, we did have high winds chilling the air. The scarf Sarah wore on most days was regrettably left behind and the layers of sweatshirts she chose to wear seemed less than what was appropriate for the day’s chill. Of course, I felt I should have stopped and took momma inventory of her attire before setting off on our adventure, but I didn’t and what she wore would have to do.

I had planned to park at the American Museum of Natural History for the entire day. The parking fees were expensive but I would be without worry as to where to park the car. I felt as if we hit the lottery when there was a free space in the street right out front of the museum, starting our day with what could be as much as a $48.00 savings.

We planned our day when purchasing the tickets. Between the special scheduled exhibits, Butterfly and the Brain | Aligaeta’s Blog we toured the many regular admission exhibits we have seen years ago as we attempted to navigate the museum map on our way to find my favorites: the Hall of Gems and the Hall of Minerals. – Now, I know they have apps for getting around the museum, can you imagine!

At 3:00 we left the museum to go out for lunch. Good Enough to Eat, New York City Restaurant . The restaurant, Good Enough to Eat, a pick of Rachael Ray‘s, is located at 483 Amsterdam Ave @ 83rd St. just three blocks up and one Avenue over from the museum. It was a nice walk up in the sun followed by a brisk windy walk over in the shade. As we walked, cold and a little tired we decided against our plan Mapping Our Day in NYC | Aligaeta’s Blog for the 5:30 stroll through Central Park over to the East side for our evening lecture. On the way, we decided it would be to too much after walking through the museum for three plus hours and the walk to and from the restaurant. We would plan another day to explore the walkways and exhibits of Central Park.

Lunch was wonderful! The decor of the eatery was a country fair, we felt as if we were home in the valley and not on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. Sarah ate half of her burger and fries it was an enormous portion. I ate all of my Grilled Yellow Fin Tuna on freshly baked whole wheat and cup of Potato, Bacon, Chipotle soup, the days sandwich special. The sandwich was outstanding as was Sarah’s burger. I found the soup smooth and bland, it was okay but not what I expected. The coffee, a dark french roast was superb and our waiter never let my cup get empty. The restaurant is small, only a dozen tables. We were very happy to find at this off peak time a table readily available. The bill with tax and added tip was only $33.00 and well worth it. I was so glad that I had taken the time to visit Rachael Ray’s Official Website :: Home & Away to search and find a nice restaurant in the area. I plan to return to Good Enough to Eat with my youngest, who I lovingly refer to as the freshie, on our date in the spring. She will love it also, as they have a large selection on the menu for the vegetarian.

Our walk back to the museum was pleasant with the days winds dying down. We finished our visit in the Ocean Life exhibit, Sarah’s favorite and we were there until closing at 5:45. I drove through Central Park to the East Side and down to 68th Street where once again I found free parking on the street by Hunter College for the Writer’s Series Lecture with Barbara Taylor Bradford. To read more about the lecture: NYC with My Girl | Aligaeta’s Blog.

After a week of Sarah being home I found it was only leaving the house in a frenzy that the scarf had been left behind. In fact, she wears it all the time. Yesterday as a departing gift, I crocheted another scarf for Sarah and was happy to see her wearing it on her way back to campus. It was a wonderful spring break in the winter.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wrapped in Momma’s Love

  1. Lori Frassinelli says:

    Where is the link to where we can buy these scarf…lol.
    ~L

  2. Aligaeta says:

    As they have been so popular and I kept hearing “I want one!” I’ll be opening a shop on Etsy, September 1, 2011 and I am taking special orders in advance for the fall. The link is the story of how the idea for scarf got started and how they are made to order. https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/christmas-and-then-what/

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Good for you on the Etsy shop! You’ll have to post about it here when it opens – I’d love to “browse” 🙂

    I’m glad you had such an enjoyable week with your daughter. What a huge compliment that she wore the scarf you made her. (Love the title of the post and how you related it in the text, BTW!)

    • Aligaeta says:

      Well, thank you Janna for your thoughtful comments to my post, our visit, and interest in browsing Etsy for my adventure. I will surely keep you posted.

  4. What a coincidence! I have a cookbook Ive used for the past 20 years when I want some good comfort food, called “Good Enough To Eat.” Of course, it’s authored by the women who run the NYC restaurant by the same name. I guess I’d forgotten about the restaurant, but I will be sure to visit there when I go to NYC in two months. I will be taking some of the kids and we’ll need somewhere reasonably priced to eat! Thanks for another good post.

  5. Aligaeta says:

    Oh, that is some coincidence. Be sure to use Rachael Rays site to find other places in and around the city. The Central Park walks will be bringing us back to the city this spring there are maps online.

Leave a Reply

