Shame On You Verizon!

Verizon has decided to punish me, interrupting my service, then attaching a $15.00 reconnection fee all because a frequently carry one month past due before paying the account in full. I figure if I’m being charged the $5.00 late fee, I might as well wait for the next bill and pay both months together. How dare I be $56.00 past due?

I went to the verizon store to discuss this mistake, as it must be a mistake, with the clerk and surprise, surprise, there in the verizon store, they have nothing to do with billing on existing accounts. Billing discrepancies cannot be handled face to face. I’m outraged. My only recourse will have to be via the telephone.

The irony here is that I am not a telephone person. I hate the phone and I need to talk on the phone to complain about my dissatisfaction with my phone service company. The $39.99 plan + 9.00 in other charges in fees each month before the $5.00 late fee is outrageous, but I pay it. Now they expect me to pay that, while my service is presently interrupted? In addition to another $15.00 slapped onto my account to reactivate my service when the payment was only two weeks late.

On the phone with the billing department, at this point all that interests me is how much will it cost to get out of this contract. I am told they will cancel my contract by my settling the balance and paying an additional $120.00. I wonder if they are on a mission to eliminate customers holding contracts for the bare minimum plan?

I returned home to find a letter from verizon: Balance $109.44 (of which according to my monthly billing statement $54.72 is not due until March 18th.)

“This is formal notification that your Verizon Wireless service will be permanently disconnected unless the seriously past-due balance on this account is paid in full immediately.”

In addition, they go on to threaten me with an adverse credit rating!

SHAME ON YOU VERIZON!

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shame On You Verizon!

  1. Southern Man says:

    Did you sign a document called a contract? To me the bigger irony is your ignoring the terms and contdions of the contract for convenience sake. Yes, all cell phone carriers will hold you to the contract since you signed it and they have provided service and equipment in good faith. I don’t blame you for being upset but you are misguied in where you placing blame.

  2. Kaira says:

    We left Verizon years ago – it was one headache after another with them!

    • Aligaeta says:

      I can see charging me the $5.00 late fee but then to disconnect me when I am two weeks past due makes me feel abused. The end of my dealings with Verizon!

  3. Aligaeta says:

    ****Update: I paid the bill in full before the due date and my service was turned on without the additional $15.00 fee.

Leave a Reply

