Rising Above Our Differences

While your waiting, as I am waiting for my daughter to return from her visit with her father, so I can learn as I am technologically challenged, to upload photos of our NYC trip onto my blog, I will tell you a little about my relationship with my sister.

I am happy to say, we picked up with nothing beyond some affirmation that she needed the distance, all these years she’s been out of my life. What brought this distance had everything to do with, her living her life, knowing it was less than I wanted for her, her life, her way, yet when he, her husband knew he was dying, he returned her to us.

It is something how, just like my mother, Tom rose to be more than I expected, when he was faced with death.

What’s amazing is however harsh I may have viewed their lifestyle I find my sister and her recently departed husband to have raised the most lovable children. If anything he made her strong. Or perhaps she always was strong, which is why she chose him, the man she loved.

I’ve been spending a lot of time being a big sister and aunt the past six weeks. I’m thankful he loved her enough to lead her back.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rising Above Our Differences

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad that you’re able to accept your sister, rather than carry a grudge for the years of distance. Family relationships can be quite complicated!

    • Aligaeta says:

      Unfortunately, others are less able to let go of the hurt or make time for her in their busy lives. Complicated… what an accurate word to use to describe some of my family relationships.

Leave a Reply

