Mapping Our Day in NYC

Oh, the excitement of planning a day in NYC with my daughter. We are heading in for a Barbara Taylor Bradford lecture in the evening but I thought: Wouldn’t it be nice to spend the entire day in New York City! After calculating the cost to park the car and take mass transit for the two of us we might as well drive into Manhattan. With the astronomical cost to park up to five hours, it only makes sense to park the entire day.

Our first thought was to go to the Museum of Modern Art, there is an Andy Warhol: Motion Pictures exhibit. We’re not familiar with his work, but there is nothing wrong with gaining a little culture. More to my taste would be the exhibition on Daydreams and Nightmares, having studied the psychology of dreams last year in my senior seminar, although this exhibit is from Germany, Weimar Cinema, 1919-1933 and although it maybe enriching, the dark side may darken our day. I want to do something fun with my daughter.

So before she set out for her day of ice-skating followed by a concert at The Chance with the freshie and friends we decided we would plan to go to the American Museum of Natural History. They have a “Butterfly” exhibit, that should be light and whimsy, more toward the flavor we seek in setting the tone for our day. Also, there is the exhibit “Brain: The Inside Story” to satisfy our interest in psychology and the mind and expose us to the 21 century concept of the brain.

I found a nice place for us to eat with reasonable prices by googling the map of NYC and searching eateries within walking distance of the museum. I dropped the names into Rachael Ray‘s search engine and when I found one that met her approval, I opened the link, read the menu, and found the type of fair my daughter and I would enjoy within my limited budget, under $50.00 in NYC for two is very good on the upper west side.

I found a bus on the MTA site, to get us from the west side to the east side for our final destination and after being settled with that, I thought: What a shame to be spending the whole day indoors when the weather is going to be beautiful. For those of you unfamiliar with NYC the American Museum of Natural History is just off Central Park West. I google mapped directions through the park clicked to walk and I was giving three options each under 30 minutes. Forget the bus.

I then, subscribed to Central Park and downloaded two walking tour maps with sight descriptions along each of the paths. One walk is 1.5 hours the other 2 hours. Knowing where we will enter the park and our desired destination we will map our path accordingly. After the lecture we will catch a taxi through the park if we are too nervous to walk the path in the dark. All and all, $200.00 will buy us an adventure of a life time.

I hope you will be looking forward to the follow-up of our day’s adventure and the photos of our trip over the next few days.

Where have you gone on your day trips?

Do you have any NYC day trip tips to share?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mapping Our Day in NYC

  1. Lisa says:

    Sounds like a fun and fabulous day. I look forward to the update.

  2. Lisa says:

    Your day sounds amazing!! Since I answered the first question already 😉 , I’ll answer the second here. I don’t have any NYC day trips to share, since I live in Wisconsin, but we have taken several weekend NYC trips that always include walking in Central Park, a visit to the Met, once a tour of the Flatiron Building from someone whom I work with via email, another time a tour of the floor of the NYSE (long, long time ago, when they more readily allowed such things), always good food, and always lots and lots of wonderful city walking. Thanks for allowing me to relish the memories this morning, and I look forward to your upcoming photos!

  3. What an amazing sounding day — you’re a wonderful mom to have planned such a great adventure for you and your daughter. And yes! I’m looking forward to the follow-up with pictures.

  4. Aligaeta says:

    Welcome Happykhm! I am happy to see you enjoying my trip to the city. I’m going to have to call the girls in to help with the photos, I can’t wait to share them with you.

  5. Pingback: Wrapped in Momma’s Love | Aligaeta's Blog

Leave a Reply

