A New Persona

I am very intrigued with the idea of creating a new persona. I’ve come across some interesting identities while reading blogs.  There is a woman who has created a whole life as a hen with chicks of which I read a few posts and comments. I envied her, the writer being able to detach as she does from her character and the off spring chicks.

I am sure there are other blogger’s out there that profess authority in fields they have only dreamed to venture, let us not fool ourselves as they have fooled themselves and so many others.

I recently read a 1980’s fictional family being freshly pressed, a cute persona, however the situation so uncharacteristic of the television family I remember and the disturbing overbearing father figure served to spoil fond memories of the supportive, loving, fictional father I had remembered. I wondered from the creepiness I felt, if he was in fact a widow or did he have a wife tied up in the basement, while he wrote obsessed with his daughter’s sexuality.

I liked Jan Brady as a child, she was sweet, but so overshadowed by Marcia. Also, she was so stuck in the middle as I was as a child and I do want to get away from that.

Susan Dey‘s character in The Partridge Family turned a lot of heads and she was hip for a seventies character. Actually, thinking about it this would be perfect as my best friend had been so in love and still is with David Cassidy, although she was disheartened by his recent DWI arrest in her home state of Florida. Yet, I couldn’t image having to wonder all these years if she’d stuck by my side for me or just to be near my brother. I never realized how awkward such a relationship might me.

Then if one was able to take on someones life, like a real person’s (I’m not suggesting identity thief) but to pretend that they were a person they admired, they’d have to take on the whole person, their past and present, not just their talent or fame but their personal life as well. As I so admire the writing of Joyce Carol Oates and her prestige in academia. While reading a NY Times review of her autobiography, I learned that in her relationship with her beloved departed husband that they didn’t share the unpleasantries of their days, if at all avoidable. For me that wouldn’t be a satisfactory relationship. I’m a sharer.

Perhaps I’ll keep with Aligaeta. I’ve grown comfortable with my little world.

Apparently I need help here…

If you were to take on a new persona,

whose would it be?

 

Picasso Image: sivers.org

Mirror in the sun Image: picasaweb.google.com

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A New Persona

  1. jannatwrites says:

    A new persona sounds good right about now. I think I’d be one of my cats, but I wouldn’t have much to write, maybe “meow” before I curled up and napped in my desk chair.

    The problem with a persona is having to stay in character to keep up the ruse. Yeah, on second thought, I’ll just stick with “me”. Though it’s not thrilling, there’s a better chance I won’t mess that up 😉

  2. Lisa says:

    I don’t know that I would take on a new persona, I think I would just be a better ME.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Now that is the three of us choosing to remain ourselves in this silly little game. When I began writing this post Feb. 20th I wasn’t sure how I would finish it. I thought ‘How pathetic it is that I can pick a character.’ Looking at it again last night I concluded to remain myself and thought ‘Where’s my whimsy?’

      Are any of my reader’s whimsical? Please comment.

  3. Lisa says:

    Okay, I’ve re-thought a little (and was reminded by another blog post (http://littlemisseverything.wordpress.com/2011/03/02/paranormal-huntress-shh-dont-tell-anyone/) that I would really become Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I’m already short, and most people say I’m cute. Who wouldn’t want to be able to kick butt, save the world, and have sexy immortal men wanting you daily? I’m changing my answer. Just call me Lisa the Vampire Slayer!

  4. Aligaeta says:

    Thank you, thank you! I want to be Pippi Longstocking http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Pippi_Langstrumpf_Pippi_Longstocking.jpg

    And even more so I want to live finish making this my house. /Users/ali/Desktop/270px-Villa_villekulla.jpg

    My house on Long Island was pale yellow and I had put on a green roof.
    The house I live in now is pale yellow siding and I painted the trim salmon.
    I never realized I was trying to create Pippi’s house until now.

  5. Aligaeta says:

    Pippi’s house.

Leave a Reply

