Expanding the Metaphor

I find when searching an interest on the Internet, through “tags” or “google” that I keep coming up with the superficial instead of in-depth stories. Bullets and lists disturb me. I miss the musings of a subject.

Andre Santos, says in his post, “We’re now more aware of everything happening around us, but less aware of the context surrounding it.”

http://andrersantos.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/getting-stuffed-in-an-all-you-can-eat-buffet/

I have to agree with Santos. To continue using his food metaphor, I’m bored (eating a little of everything, buffet style) in search of the real meal. I’m hungry for knowledge.

I had returned to college Spring 2010 after taking many years off from academia to find my courses Blogging. I was astonished to be given a ten-page assignment that by the end of the course would need to be cut down to six short posts: bulleted and linked so as not to bore the reader.

I was to follow the instruction to insert images for the purpose of carrying the reader’s eye. In the Sociology of Food, an exploration into family’s taking responsibility for their obesity, I believe the topic far outweighed (no pun intended) the images of people stuffing their faces. I find images like much of life, requires balance.

I enjoy writing, reading, and learning. I come to the buffet table, (WordPress posts) in search of substance, I subscribe to the dishes I like, I eat off the menu, and I seek new dishes to add.

If you visit my blog because we have common interest please click like or comment, as I’d be interested in exploring your blog as a means to expand my menu. I need to know who my readers are in order to do so. Today I added “Read more… ” with my WordPress link on my Gravatar. I did this after clicking on a Gravatar that mentioned interest of my own. But although I tried to find this blogger, I was unsuccessful. I made this addition as to be more easily accessible to someone looking to find my site.

Just some food for thought.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Expanding the Metaphor

  1. jannatwrites says:

    Interesting views, here. I can’t tell you how many posts I’ve read about how to have a great blog, increase readership, etc. I’ve seen that posts should be less than 500 words, use short paragraphs to make it scannable, add visuals (pictures).

    My blog reading has been for entertainment purposes, but I do accidentally learn something once in a while. For me, brevity hasn’t been a problem, but if you are looking for a “meaty” topic, I can see how a bunch of side dishes would be a problem. Sorry, I couldn’t resist the metaphor.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Nice to see you carry the metaphor : )

      Yesterday, I actually came across a few menus but apparently the restaurants were closed. The lists were like tables of content in a book but there were no other pages.

      I have to agree with the short paragraphs as I have difficulty reading on the computer without the work broken into small paragraphs, (old eyes.)

Leave a Reply

