Planning the Garden

As everything is still uncertain about the move and the move will be only a few miles away if it happens, I’ll still be planting the garden. I went through my Johnny’s Selected Seed catalog this morning after skimming the first few paragraphs of the article “In Recession’s Wake, Frugal Ways Make a Comeback” by Matt Richtel. Yes, planting is my frugal way of fighting the recession as it’s been my frugal way of surviving these years after the divorce. After shopping the catalog ,when I tally the cost of seeds and potato starters I’m up to about $130.00 and then there is the usual $30 or so that I spend on tomato and pepper seedlings at the nursery in Westtown that will be added to my gardening cost.

I’ve let go to the idea of planting strawberry starters this year, not knowing where to plant them, this house or that house? I read up on the asparagus and I need to visit that patch in the spring, watching for the sprouts to harvest. They recommend, snapping off each stalk one inch below the soil. I have the purple variety it has looked so inviting the past season and this is the prime season for harvest with the anticipation I could almost taste them and feel their soft crunch.

I ordered enough for a very large garden, I plan on feeding my sister’s family whether they are living here or not. Although I do hope to have company in the garden.

This year I will be planting: green beans, snap peas, spinach, beets, carrots, lettuce a mixed variety, eggplant (although unsuccessful year after year, I try again), acorn squash, cucumbers, red potato’s, basil, cilantro, dill, oregano, and indoor sprouts, and from seedlings a variety of tomato; cherry, slicing, and plum, and peppers: both hot and sweet.

Its funny how I can plant it all in the garden yet I can’t trust myself to water the potted seeds in the house? Go figure.

Do you have any funny limitations?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

