Dreams

 

We all have dreams.

We can talk about them

And then do nothing.

We can toy with them

And watch them become something else.

We can also consider others and compromise:

Not getting exactly what we had wanted

But finding a mutual ground.

We can add thought and planning

And still come up no further along,

The dream is still a dream.

In setting our plans in motion

We can transform our dreams into reality.

Action is required to make dreams materialize.

Dreams need to be nurtured

Or they simply fade away

And there lies the dreamer:

Wishing, hoping, paralyzed by their fears,

Yet expecting their dreams to still come true.

I stopped talking about my dream,

To far from my reach,

With nobody onboard.

My dream involved the others,

It wasn’t a lonesome venture,

And alone it was no longer my dream.

All that was left of my dream,

Was away from here,

With compromises made.

Is that enough?

I don’t wonder.

It’s a short journey,

With everyone aboard.

Obtainment,

Family,

Love,

Who could want much more?

Or perhaps its just:

A dreamer’s dream.

Whose to know for sure?


About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

