Protest, Survival, or Blessing?

Putting Peanut the Dog out this morning required rolling up my pajamas, zipping up my boots, and putting on my coat. I was relieved to find the end of her chain hooked up above the snow. I am so done with winter even if it is not done with me. I could if I tried, appreciate the beauty of the snow across the fields and distant covered mountain. I could be grateful that as I shake the snow off my boots, the chill from my pants quickly warms from the heat radiating from the fire. I should also find comfort knowing this winter too, will at some point come to an end.

Peanut doesn’t seem to mind in her heavy coat to lay out on the covered ground or to quietly patrol her territory sniffing in wonder as to what she will find beneath the cool blanket.

This morning I let my car be unveiled and driven away, as I have no desire today to venture beyond pajamas. Now as it is too late I find myself sitting here longing to escape. But I can not escape my circumstance. The facts remain… I have nowhere to go. With no employment or excess funds, I’ve stranded myself to keep from shopping and spending on this President’s Day – call it a protest, call it survival, or…

I always believe: He gives me what I need. Before I could prop the window open the beautiful pheasant in my parking space disappeared. I searched and searched thinking maybe I had hallucinated, as there are no signs of Mr. Pheasant in the snow, but I found my Gift then in the neighbor’s yard. Perhaps his spirit needs lifting also…

Protest, Survival, or Blessing?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

