Write, Cry, Pray, and Smell the Roses

Happy Valentine’s Day to me! I received a dozen beautiful roses today from my girls. Note, the ‘freshie’ was surprised when I thanked her. She tries hard and means well and when she’s slacking her big sister drags her along. Go, Sarah!I could have posted the earlier photo of the day with the table cleared but this one shows the afghan completed, yeah! So, not only was this a day where my girls shined their love on me it was a productive one.

I also got into my writing and blogged about the sociological perspective of the unemployment crisis in this country and added an excerpt of my post as a response to Theodore Ross’ op. at the NY Times. Venturing beyond my WordPress domain is a new and exciting adventure and seemed appropriate from the replies Ross received to his article. The devastation seen in some of those responses provoked a sense of comradity although, they were harsh toward Ross with his flippant attitude not representative of the masses especially those near or past 99 weeks. One man remarked how his family had once been comfortable and now he is raising his children in poverty. I empathize and at the same time fear for us all.

I’d like to be able to celebrate Egypt‘s democracy on this day, but the gloom of our own economy looms low tonight. It seems we struggle more and more each day since 9/11. I don’t know if its relevance is only predominate from a NYC reach as its effect of unemployment in nationwide.

Although tonight, I want to sit back and smell the roses, break from despair, and count my blessings.

I want to change my circumstance. I want to change the world. And today, all I can do is sit here and write, cry, and pray. One of the responses was one of surprise that there were not more suicides. I hold on to the philosophy of Emile Durkheim, the great French Sociologist: Those with loved ones will survive such crisis as will those with religion.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write, Cry, Pray, and Smell the Roses

  1. jannatwrites says:

    That was sweet of your kids to give you flowers. They do brighten the room, don’t they? Congrats on the completed afghan!

    I do hope the break from despair will give you the strength to keep your chin up. It is a difficult time, but a deep inhale of the roses may be just what you need.

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Sarah is so sweet. There was a bit of miscommunication without the card. They were to both the ‘freshie’ and I. Not from Sarah and the ‘freshie’. Sarah wanted to send the love to both her home girls : )

    I was so thrilled to finish the afghan! Looking at the finished work I can’t believe I made it, it is a beautiful work of art all fringed with ruffle. It adds coziness to the room.

    And the flowers add color and fragrance, bright and cheery! Seeing this brightness, I hung a painting over the couch, that I had thought might be too colorful for the room. But like the flowers it was the brightness that the room needed.

    Thank you for the supportive comments.

Leave a Reply

