A Giant Step from Comfort

I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone and in doing so, this time, I took a giant step. Isolated as I am from culture living here on the farm, in this rural community, I find it refreshing and culturally stimulating going to events in NYC.

I’ve made many friends here, our common interests include farming, community, and family, some support my vision of expanding opportunities for those with mental illness, but their stand remains as caregivers and not as educated activists or artists. Although I enjoy their company, I’m afraid they’d be lost at and documentary of an artist’s rise above insanity into the world of creativity, in NYC, way out of their comfort zone.

The last City University event I attended by myself and although I knew the speaker and one of the attendants, a graduate student in the program, I would have liked to have come to the event with someone to share thoughts with afterwards. I would have liked to have had someone, a friend to catch up with, to share ideas and visions with, to collaborate.

In creating this blog I had hoped to meet and befriend those with like minds from the NY, NJ area who might share these cultural/activist interests with. Perhaps like me they navigate the experiences alone.

I read a great post last month, which has given me the courage and know how to engage others.

http://crystalspins.com/2011/01/17/dating-and-friend-making-etiquette-points/#comment-1492

I’m not sure if she would approve on the short notice I gave to my friends from last semesters English Senior Seminar “Dreams” class, but I only learned of this Event yesterday. In addition, I invited a young friend from my last job in the field of mental health to also join me.

I sent out five personalized emails which stated that I would be attending the event, a link to the free event, why I think they would enjoy the documentary and that I would enjoy their company.  I included the names of others I would be inviting saying that I think we would all have a great time catching up.  In the letter to my ex-co-worker, I sent her the same information, in addition: I let her know I invited some creative friends from college that I’d like to introduce her to.

I don’t usually make plans with other because I am afraid to be disappointed extending myself and then still being left at the event alone. I also don’t want to feel responsible for others enjoying themselves or for their feeling that their time has been waisted. But today I let all of that go, taking that giant leap from my comfort zone.

I plan to have a cultural experience on Friday it would be nice to share it with friends but that would only be a bonus.  Crystalspins thank you for giving me the courage to step out of my comfort zone, in your fabulous post.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Giant Step from Comfort

  1. CrystalSpins says:

    Well I can’t wait to find out how this turned out for you! I’m excited to have been an inspiration in any way. And while short notice isn’t the best situation sometimes it is the only option. Plus it sounds like you handled the invite in an incredibly polite and engaging way!

    • Aligaeta says:

      I appreciate your approval as it does wonders for my confidence. I did receive one reply, my young friend is working but she was thrilled to have been included and asked that I keep in touch. I’ll continue to let you know how it turns out. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

