Couples Weekend : ) NO Children Allowed!

Dorrie was always envious that each weekend my ex would come and pick up my children and take them down to Long Island. Yes, I had weekends free. I was able to catch up on household chores, I had quiet time, and I most importantly: I was available to date without worrying about childcare.

I know, too good to be true, but it didn’t last. They grew up, social engagements and jobs got in the way of their availability to leave for the weekend. So as it turned out, Fred and I, only had about six months of free weekends early in our relationship, before my home turned into a revolving door on weekends with kids coming in and out, with their friends unannounced, at all hours.

I guess what I miss the most is pajama Sunday’s, (use your imagination). Over the years, my ex would come without fail each weekend, yet, someone would be left behind. First it was Sarah, now with Sarah off at college, it’s the freshie’s (AKA:Melissa’s) turn to stay at home.

Not that the freshie comes home, but you never know. One needs to be dressed (just in case) when running down the stairs to use the bathroom in the night. I miss the freedom to run through the house naked and make noises at will, when arousing in the night.

Instead, we are always cautious that someone may have come home, sometime after we’ve dozed off, whether they have or not.

 

Tonight is different, they are all gone.

Now, my honey’s off to the store on an ice-cream run. There should be no one here to steal the our treat. When he comes in-the door will be locked. I’m also planning i-scream for breakfast.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Couples Weekend : ) NO Children Allowed!

  1. Ahhh…I love this! I know exactly what you mean. Juan and I used to have alternate weekends free of kids until we made one of our own. Diego doesn’t have another home to go to so no more pajama Sundays for us. And since Olivia moved into the bedroom next to ours, no more i scream for me either! Maybe when they are grown and moved on to college, but then I hear they’re like boomerangs and come back!

    Enjoyed your posts (as usual) and glad to steal away during my lunch hour to catch up with you!

    • Aligaeta says:

      It so nice to see you back to the blog. I learned early on, once their gone they are gone, not more than a short stay on the couch, call it a visit, while planning their next move. Make them be responsible, after you’ve given them the tools. I tell you they don’t make walls thick enough.

      Thanks for stopping by for a laugh. I titled this, as I did, hoping it would discourage my children from reading this one post : ) if not, now they know we’re not dead yet.

Leave a Reply

