R.I.P. From Generation Z

Tragic news stats, within minutes of the time of death going across social media sites has become the acceptable way for this next generation, to inform loved ones and the world their SP, Special Person, has departed.  R.I.P. followed by the name, relation, and some kind words are delivered by those of Generation Z.

I received a call my daughter from Sarah, who is back on campus. I was expecting her call, having asked her to keep checking in, as she has the flu and is away from my care. As of yesterday she was still dragging herself out of bed and making it to class. I worry about her pushing herself so hard, but I understand her concern of falling behind at the start of the semester. What I didn’t expect, however, was her report that cousin Chris posted news of his Step-Dad’s death on Facebook.

My children; Sarah, Matthew, and Michael, unlike cousin Christopher and their little sister, the ‘freshie’, are conservative young adults, they are typical of Generation Y, striving to do their best and make something of themselves in spite of these difficult economic times. Like Generation Zer’s, they are all about social media, yet they adhere and are respectful to the conventional societal norms.  For example they will pick up the telephone and make the call even though they know I interact in social media.

In times of crisis, I can count on my children. These young adults with their full lives have stopped in their tracks to check in and offer whatever services are needed. Even the ‘freshie’ and her cousins of Generation Z have risen to the occasion. I informed her I’d be bringing dinner to her aunt’s house and I would meet her and her cousin there. I was cooking for the masses. Asking what she could do, I told her it would be nice if she and Katie baked cookies for the kids.

I was making meatball, sausages, a pot of sauce, baking bread, and trying to figure out all the different pots that would be needed to accommodate the vegetarian Generation Z diets. I then, called the ‘freshie’ and asked her to eat dinner with Katie before coming to her Aunt’s house. One less stress for this Baby Boomer.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to R.I.P. From Generation Z

  1. Southern Man says:

    Labels, labels, labels… How sad yet how profound.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad your children are supporting you during the rough time. That must give you a sense of pride 🙂 My thought are with you….

Leave a Reply

