Cold, Freezing, Ha, Bring It On!

The lead into tonight’s 11pm Eyewitness News program, “The coldest air in six years.”, doesn’t mean much as I am in for the night, there is a full tank of oil in the furnace and although, I am on my last bag of wood pellets for the stove, the hopper is full and in the morning we’ll replenish the supply.

I remember the nights I’d lay in bed beneath sheet, blanket, comforter, and a throw on top, cuddling, trying to keep warm in this old drafty house, but that was a few years back. I wish I could tell you that before replacing the sheet rock when renovating my bedroom we rolled out and installed the insulation; that thick pink itchy stuff that blocks the breeze, but we didn’t.

Being green that would have been the way to go, but how do you insulate one room with no plans in the up coming years to insulate the other outer walls of the house? Since then, I decided not to rely on oil, but to use wood pellets as our primary source of heat, back when the prices of oil soared some years ago. Keeping the stove set on one, its lowest setting, is enough to warm this house even on this coldest of nights with its internal fan, ceiling fans, and a fan unit in the ceiling assisting the hot air to the second floor.

Fred thinks I should set the stove on two tonight. He’s cold lying here in the livingroom six feet from the fire. There’s enough pellets to get us through the night on two. I’m sitting here on the far side of the room fighting the urge to open the window. Yes, open the window, again, as it was propped open earlier with the air being pulled away from me into the kitchen and through the opening to the upstairs bedrooms, but not to mine.

When I go up to bed tonight I’ll close the bedroom door behind me. My daughter will close her door with the heat blowing into her room and I’ll still be warm. The furnace as it fires up to heat the hot water throws heat from the base boards throughout the house. I remember how this sporadic heat throughout the night was insufficient, even with the stove on two. But this year, like last year, I close the door, waking throughout the night from the discomfort.

Clothes off, fan on, blanket on, blanket off, window open, window closed, throughout the night. Fred lies beside me sleeping sound, dressed in flannels and blanketed with fire radiating from the woman lying beside him. He stays warm. I sweat. I can’t wait for menopause to be over. I can’t wait, once again, to be normal.

The wind chill forecast tonight is -20′ below, I hope Fred stays warm and that it will be cold enough for me to sleep with the window closed as the breeze blows through the old house.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold, Freezing, Ha, Bring It On!

  1. JannatWrites says:

    Not looking forward to menopause. Living in AZ I’m afraid I’ll turn into a monster during the summer (I’m already quite cranky that time of year.)

    It’s funny that he needs the heat up higher and you could sleep on ice packs for you both to be comfortable 🙂

Leave a Reply

