Camping Reservations

I plan my camping trips to Cape Cod six months in advance as the sites book quickly and they come available to book online six months prior to the date desired through reserveamerica.com. This site is very informative as to the amenities the campground has to offer.  For me, hot showers are most essential.

There have been times over the years when the dreaded cold of winter has kept my mind from the summer camping adventure and I’ve missed out on the availability of desired campsites. This has led me to explore other destinations.

As for me, the idea of vacation means the “beach”, so I google search maps of states along the Atlantic. I zoom in on state parks by the ocean and then search

the park on the state websites. This is how I found my second favorite campground: Assateaque State Park, MD. However, what I didn’t consider was the wind factor camping in a tent so close to the ocean and the storm that sent us to town for a hotel room and replacement of the tent.

But as far as nature is concerned, the beauty of the wild horses were enough for me to return to Assateaque again, paying close attention to storms out in the Atlantic. Also, Assateaque is 30 minutes from Ocean City, MD and the boardwalk and rides are a great attraction for those children and tweens.

I was early this year, counting the days till the opening of that six month window for reservation. Even with the ocean temperature on the Cape generally being below 60′ in the weeks of early summer, making Assateaque seem more desirable. I am all booked for my home away from home on the Cape, where I know where everything is having returned year after year.  I can’t wait till summer.

Images:  TLC Family “Family Vacations: Assateague Island National Seashore” and smokymountainherald.com

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

