Effective Parenting: The New Voice

As the younger generations are all about social media, to keep up and yes to keep connected, requires participation. I thought I was doing the best I could establishing a Facebook account and carrying around a cellular phone, but including them in my world of blogging has brought me back my family.

As time passed, I requested and in some cases I have been requested to be included as a friend on Facebook with my children, my children’s friends, and my nieces and nephews. In doing so, my Facebook keeps me updated on stats, and to be honest some stats I don’t care to know about with its: language content, vulgarity, and crudeness, however, I am connected.

As I am responsible for providing transportation and running a household the call to my cell phone with pertinent information is welcome. There’s nothing worse than getting home to find out something is needed and having to go back out. In addition, to have the resources to contact support from others when I fall short or fall behind, unable to do it all, the cell phone has become essential.

Facebook and the cellular phone serves the minimal purpose of stats and needs, where they’re at and what I can do for them and what they can do for me.  Blogging is so much more.

Blogging is validation, conversation, and engaging. They know I hear them because I am telling all of you. They may not have told me, yet I hear them.  I am all about their world. As I write about their issues, seeking understanding, expressing concern,  or engaging voice to their issues, I am opening lines of communication and they feel validated.

It does not begin being about them.  They each have become engaged with the blog by something I want to share with them about my connection and expression as to, what’s going with me or with someone else in the family and they want more. And yes, they wonder: What have you written about me? And I share with them their place in my world of blogging.

Now as my Facebook friends has grown to include these young adults my WordPress Blog captures them and they hear me.

I am not the mother standing in the kitchen speaking to a young adult walking by with their hand over their ears, singing. You know that tune…

I don’t hear you.., la, la, la,

I can’t hear you, la, la, la,

Are you talking to me?

La, la, la.

 

Once again, with my blog, I’m connected: I have an effective voice.

 

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Effective Parenting: The New Voice

  1. Southern Man says:

    Love it…

  2. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad you are able to connect with your kids through the blog. It’s the next best thing to them actually sitting down and talking to you with one ear tuned to the TV.

    • Aligaeta says:

      I couldn’t ask for more. They are hearing me at greatest depth. Sometimes auditory, I don’t think I get out more than one sentence before I lose them. But to be honest I always have my Sarah’s attention : )

Leave a Reply

