Generation Zzzzzz

I try to get into the mind of my seventeen year old daughter. I watch as she ruins opportunities. I am dumbfounded by her disinterest as I constantly scream for her to “Wake up” both literally and figuratively. She is the last of four and my greatest challenge.

“INDIVIDUALITY” could be tattooed on her forehead. She is like no other, that is until I pierce into Generation Z or as they are also known Generation Waking Up and/or the Dream Generation.

“Generation Waking Up is a global campaign to ignite a generation of young people to bring forth a thriving, just, sustainable world.” Awakening The Dreamer – Generation Waking Up

These ten and under’s at the time of 9/11, robbed their childhood innocence mirror the baby boomer’s rebellion of the late 60’s early 70’s, Vietnam War Era, as everything around them is in a state of disorder.

  • The Joblessness Crisis
  • Global Warming
  • The Industrialized Food Nation
  • The Economic Crisis
  • The Housing Crisis

No wonder getting out of bed in the morning and going off to high school seems useless; Generation Zzzzzz is without hope of a future.

I’m the parent. I’m supposed to fix everything.   As an unemployed, college graduate the best I can look forward to will be planting the farm. I’ll be looking for Generation Zer’s to help till the earth come spring and start planting. I’ll be sustaining energy: no tractor, shovels and hoes will be provided, no herbicides or pesticides, I can’t afford them.

Will she lay in bed worrying about the future or tend to the present, tilling and planting the farm?  I can be supportive, can she?


About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Generation Zzzzzz

  1. pobept says:

    Generaction Z’ers.
    My grand daughter’s head in in another time zone. I sometimes think she even resides on a different Planet.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Welcome to my blog.
      It is amazing, isn’t it? I believe those Generation Zer’s wish they were on a different planet. The best we can do is sympathize and do what we can to sustain their environment.

  2. chefpage152 says:

    Melissa: want to hear the fun fact of the day?
    Matthew: your a bitch?
    Melissa: No that’s the fun fact of everyday!

  3. Southern Man says:

    I struggle with the topic because I tend to believe it is over dramatized. Maybe I am old school. I don’t care about creativity and self worth. I care about respect, manners and work ethic. Things that help you survive in the world since it is a cold, cold place.

    Now, my kids will tell you I am stern, no nonsense and yet I allow them to be themselves within that framework. In my house no meant no, maybe meant leave me alone or it will mean no and yes, of course meant yes with responsibility and accountability.

    Who’s to say if I am out of touch or a dinosaur. Not me…

    • Aligaeta says:

      You “allow” within that (your) “framework”(boundaries) LOL. I laugh and tease because I know you and I wouldn’t expect anything other. My world is different than yours. I’m not touching that dinosaur comment all I’ll say is good thing you don’t have a generation z child, you have two y’s, where as I have an x, 2-y’s, and that z that drives me crazy.

Leave a Reply

