A Syllabus for This Writer

My girl is packed and gone back to campus this morning.  As another semester begins I see her off as I see off the whole student body of which I am no longer a part.    It leaves me feeling empty, without direction, lost.

Jobless, school less, I look at my near empty nest and feel a hollow ache in my belly and the water building in my eyes.  I search for direction beyond the tears and reason to rise from the bed to find hope beyond the despair.

Unlike last years reinstatement in academia to finish my degree, as a college graduate there is a whole application process with its deadlines that require consideration, planning, and a new long-term commitment.  Although I have considered many choices from a variety of disciplines I teeter between: the disciplines, the schools, and where I want to go in life.  As this is so paramount in the age of joblessness, being at the ass end of the boomers with another fifteen plus years in the workforce, to build education debit with this dim economic forecast seems ludicrous.

As my experience is in the support services of both education and healthcare I have always felt secure, not so anymore as the cutbacks stripped jobs in both industries.  All I have left is my writing and a piece of paper that declares my professional status at it all.

As I write to find solutions, I’ve decided on creating my own syllabus as a guideline to grow as a writer.  I will explore courses that sound interesting from the perspective of a writer and select readings from the various courses to build my syllabus.  My first assignment will be a revisit of William Faulkner’s The Sound and the Fury. The next will be Virginia Woolf‘s Mrs. Dalloway and then Alice Walker‘s The Color Purple.

I also plan to continue to attend lectures at campus’ throughout the New York metropolitan area.

For those of you who have taken writing courses I would appreciate if you would add to my syllabus your reading suggestions and assignments.

Thank you.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Syllabus for This Writer

  1. Southern Man says:

    I have made it my goal to read everyone of these books and have read about 50 of them so far. Feel free to make your own selections but I really liked the depth and breadth of this list.

    http://www.infoplease.com/ipea/A0776722.html

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Yes, I’m baaaaack 🙂 I don’t have any reading suggestions, but I did want to say that I like how you are approaching your life. Instead of wasting time during the jobless time, you’re actively seeking to expand your knowledge. Good luck to you, Aligaeta!

  3. Aligaeta says:

    I am so happy to have you back after your 15 minutes of fame in the land of “Freshly Pressed”! I thought you’d have a list to help me narrow down the one Southern Man dished out. My friend likes to be thorough : )

    I’ve done so much learning this past year, yet, I’m always afraid it will be all over and I will regret waisted time when maybe I should be regreting the lack of relaxation.

    Thank you for the good wishes.

    • Southern Man says:

      I think you have aptly described me – thorough. Rather than looking at the list as all encompassing, look at it like a buffett. Pick and choose what captures your intellect and appetite. When you’re hungry again, choose a different entree that suits your mindset and appetite at that moment.

      Happy reading

      • Aligaeta says:

        SM, I thought you’d get a kick out of being described as thorough. Actually, I will look at a variety of lists and read the works that show up consistantly first, that is after I finish Gertrude Stein. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

