The Challenges of Winter

As the wind chill drops below zero I’m ready for any surprise this old farmhouse brings.

Sometimes it’s the oil jelling before it reaches the burner shutting the furnace down.  I have a pellet stove so we won’t freeze only be without hot water until we rectify the problem.

Often its the drain in the tub freezing at the elbow in the crawl space beneath.  Those that can’t wait till it thaws will shower with water rising above their ankles. Some plunging and waiting it out as the temperature outside rises with the morning sun usually solves this inconvenience, if not there’s the liquid drain opener.

We’ve had the drain under the kitchen sink freeze up and use to have to keep the cabinet door open overnight but I must have solved that insulation problem years back yet, I can’t recall.

I’ve been many years now in this old farmhouse so you’d think I’d seen it all. Not so. This morning there was no water coming into the toilet. I realized this at 6am so when needed I poured water from the sink into the tank for flushing, no need to wake Fred, this was no emergency.

When Fred woke up he felt differently, the frozen pipes might burst was not something I thought of.  I only think… How am I being inconvenienced right now? And… When will this be over?

Fred grew up in an old country home he claims was smaller than my tiny farmhouse, which his mother confirms but I still have difficulty believing; as, no one lives in a house smaller than this with its 840 sq ft.  I’m still culture shocked by life as I now know it:

Surviving Poverty: The Blessing of the Farm.  Fred got the problem solved it may only cost me a hairdryer burning out as it blows into the wall, but not today.

One shower taken this morning, with the water rising on my daughter as she gets ready to go out to work.  It’s now afternoon I suppose I’ll be bailing, as this is one cold day in a life on the farm.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

