As She Goes Back to Campus

My girl has been home on winter break from college that is soon coming to an end.  She adds life to the house with her smile and humor.  She’s a charming young lady to say the least.

We keep great company, the two of us still exploring the paths of life.  Grad schools: the educational means to what ends?  Sure we’ll be smarter, but will there be jobs with earnings sufficient enough to merit the cost of study?  Will the HR’s then be seeking candidates with PhD’s?  Will I always be a degree behind?  Nevermind my insecurities, Sarah has taken a different path.

I hold great hopes for Sarah, my bright bee, buzzing lengths beyond, smart enough to be heading for that B.S., as apposed to my perhaps worthless B.A. with its declining return. But this is about Sarah with opportunities abound, the prospect to achieve, and the ingenuity to endure. It will all be there for Sarah, my superstar.

Sarah is not only a prize student, she is my greatest cheerleader.  She is the voice of encouragement, who sent me a beautiful bouquet of lilies when I told her I was returning to school to complete my degree.  She is an avid reader of my blog.  She’s such an encouragement that I was inspired to borrow her crayons to draw this bee to celebrate her super status and as you can plainly see, I’m no artist.

I mentioned to her my intent to write a blog for her as I see her off to campus, I told her while taking a picture of the livingroom in its dorm room status that screams in celebration “Sarah’s home!”

She is happy in her mess and instead of sitting there waiting 3, 2, 1, photo, I wanted to run into her open arms.  Time goes by so quickly and soon she’ll be off returning the crap from her dorm, up and out of my livingroom, but then she will be gone too, and sorely missed, my busy bee of sunshine.

She’ll be back to Albany with lots of snow to look forward to.  But, oh that’s right, she hates the snow, not that anyone could tell…

Where does she find the time and the energy?

Look how happy she is with her man!  One that doesn’t talk back or complain.  I told you she’s smart!  Erin’s there too, see the shadow.  This picture was taken while home on break but I heard of some great campus snowmen rolled by those crafty hands with the help and company of her girls.  That’s right, she’s got people, a suite of enthusiastic young women who she desperately misses while she is home and can’t wait to go back and see, one of the many treasures of dorm life!  Being an adult commuter student I never had this experience myself nor was I able to anticipate the comradity of the dorm environment.

 

So, with tears of pride and joy,

Mixed with sweet sorrow,

I return my girl to her girls:

To grow, to learn, to live, to be,

The Sweetest Super Bumble Bee.

Mommy loves you!  See you soon : )

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to As She Goes Back to Campus

  1. Southern Man says:

    I love this… for children to have the experience we did not while at college is something that I insisted on with my own. They grow and mature faster though I’m not sure how much since the are exposed to so much more – all part of collegiate life I guess.

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Yes, it is a wonderful experience. I am so glad she has taken this opportunity, she so deserves. And, they do grow up fast.

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Your post is so sweet and sad at the same time. I can’t imagine the bittersweet feeling you have when she leaves. Thanks for sharing it; I feel like I’ve just met your daughter 🙂

  4. Pingback: How Can You Tell When Your Special People Are Being Supportive? | Aligaeta's Blog

Leave a Reply

