Philosophical Thought: Whose Up?

Can we engage in conversation?  Probably not, as I’ve found going off on political tangents is generally ignored.  It seems sneaking in this sort of protest hidden beneath the sob story of a personal memoir works best to jerk the sensibilities.  But there are plenty of stories out there in Blogville.

You will find a tons, by simply searching any of the many combinations of letter that relate to mental health disorders, ADD, ADHD, OCD, ODD, ect… (as I am sure I have not exhausted them all.)  I’ll add IEP, as that comes when you have a child with ADD, ADHD, OCD, ODD, ect…   There will be more if you care to type out the actual names of these disorders or as I call them differences. In Blogville, I’ve even heard terms for disorders I’ve never heard before, just yesterday as a matter of fact.

But below I have simply two examples of my philosophical thought.  There were six or seven but I deleted them, as when contemplating I found, although I have taken them on as my own, they were probably thoughts of others that I’ve embraced and re-worded, therefore I excluded them.  Like: referring to people as square pegs and instead of round wholes, replaced wholes with the round world.  It kind of gives a bigger picture to the problem… and makes one wonder, why can’t there be square pegs on earth?

And then there is the subject of differences vs. conformity, and the land of, what was that… the free?   But all that was deleted.   Not original, not unique.   How about marching to a different drum turned to drummer boy, listening and learning instead of condemning or stifling?

  • It’s amazing how our differences aren’t necessarily a disability, that it is not until society uses those differences to discriminate against us, that our differences become disabling.
  • We have come a long way accepting those with physical impairments, lets stretch our minds and accept there are minds that sometimes work differently than our own.

So, that was all that was left.  Someone my say, I said that, that was my idea, or my ideology.  To that I’ll say I am glad I am not alone with these views.  Let’s talk about what can be done.  What are your thoughts?  Change begins with conversation, lets talk… Leave a comment.

You see… I was actually able to type this post without becoming enraged, having left out the personal.  Ping-backs encouraged!

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Philosophical Thought: Whose Up?

  1. sparrow1969 says:

    I have a really hard time with this topic, as I my kids have struggled in their school system because they learn differently. I think there should be more dialogue surrounding how kids learn and how parents and teachers can work together to enhance a given learning environment. There should be more dialog surrounding what really is a disability as opposed to what is just a different learning style.

    I like your approach. I wonder how many more of us are out there trying to have these dialogs who get shut down because the school system says it knows best, or because they don’t have the funding to really make a go of some of the more progressive learning programs?

    Great post!
    Sparrow
    http://sparrow1969.wordpress.com/2010/12/02/green-schools-the-possibilities-are-endless/

    • Aligaeta says:

      Thank you for your comment. I’m glad your interested in the topic. I have been where you are and can empathize. A different way of learning is not a disability until they don’t have services adequate to teach your child, then he/she is disabled. It is the systems and their limitations that is disabled.

      My boys went into vocational programs in high school and excelled one in culinary the other in electronics. They learn best with hands on situations. We were fortunate to have these programs. However, for one of my sons their recommendation was to put him in a more restrictive environment and a program that would further frustrate him.

      You need to be your childs best advocate. My best to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

