Just Me and Peanut the Dog: Woo-hoo!

There all gone. It’s just me and “Peanut the dog”.  One might wonder:

  • Why is that a reason to celebrate?
  • What rates this event post worthy?
  • Where did they all go?
  • Will they be coming back?
  • How will I spend my day?
  • Will Peanut the Dog bark and whine all day long?

It is just temporary bliss.  “Woof, woof, woof woof woof…” I’ll stop now and bring her in.  The incessant barking in the yard, I don’t know if it bothers the neighbor’s, they never complain, but is sure bother’s me.  (Ah, quiet.  She’s gotten over being left behind by the others.)

“That bitch in there isn’t going to let me in.” she must have resolved and I am glad I didn’t because she’d just stand at the livingroom doorway, whining to me to let her breach the boundaries… to lay on the new carpeting, to jump up on the love seat, or just for me to pay her some attention.  But I know how that goes…

Peanut the dog, knows how to get my attention.  She gives me kisses.   Peanut is a manipulative one.  She doesn’t give kisses for the sake of affection.  She’s learned that slobbering all over me is the quickest way to get back out to the yard.  But I am not going to let thoughts of the dog monopolize anymore of my time being yoyo’d back and forth all day long.

YouTube – Snoopy Lucy Kiss Dog Germs

I became unemployed this time last year and haven’t worked since.  So it was getting kids up and out to school, Fred off to work, Sarah was home on break from college, and I was filled with the anxiety of OMG, what am I going to do?  I spent my days on job sites filling out online applications, typing cover letters, adjusting my resume for each position, and doing what I had to do to get back to college, to finish my BA, before the semester began. And to add to that… justify my unemployment with the state because the organization I had worked for was claiming I quit.  That was a pain in the ass until the Feds stepped in, randomly auditing my account, looked at the claim, and said, “What are you kidding?”

You would think once I graduated my stresses would have eased.  Still no job offers with all my experience, my AA, and now a BA.  I now have all the credentials for the government positions and we’re in a hiring freeze, local, state, and federal.

Then my partner lost his job.  Your not far off the mark if you think he wanted to be catered to all day.  He made some reference to how he’d like us to spend our days and was immediately disappointed.  Matthew and Sarah went off to college the end of August for Matthew to return seven weeks later.  Now, three unemployed adults in the house. Televisions and computers going day and night.  We have a twenty-four hour kitchen with no one liking to wash the dishes.

Today, Matthew has started his first job.  Fred got a call yesterday from a friend who needs his expertise in the shop.  Sarah had to appear for jury duty.  Matt’s job is temporary, Fred’s need at Charlie’s shop maybe only for a few hours, or perhaps the day, or a few days.  Sarah may arrive at the County Court House to find the case was settled and be thanked for her service.  In the meantime, I am home alone!

If all I do before anyone gets back is type this post uninterrupted its a great day!

BRB, phone… “The case was settled out of court, I’m on my way home.”

Still a good day…  Quick Click “Publish”.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Me and Peanut the Dog: Woo-hoo!

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad you made good use of your time alone, especially since it doesn’t happen often 🙂

  2. Southern Man says:

    Alone time is good for a giggle or a cough!

Leave a Reply

