Writing to Find Solutions

I’m trying to keep busy and mind my own business.  Some people might feel I have all the right to butt in.  I’m worried by his idleness and his lack of direction.  He seems to be waiting out the job crisis.  Well it’s driving me crazy.

Even being as busy as I make myself I can’t help but let my attention deviate to what he’s doing and more notably what he’s not doing.  He’s had steady work the past thirty years up until six months ago when at his shop they cut from the top.

If it were spring I’d have plenty for him to do, getting ready to garden.  If it weren’t so damn cold I’d send him out fishing.  “Aren’t you going to do anything?”  I ask.

“What do you want me to do?”  I feel helpless without an answer.  I don’t want to get into a project with him I have plenty of projects of my own, my crafts, my baking, and my writing.  The bottom line is that doing things cost money and with the limited funds coming in with both of us unemployed I’m not up for financing anymore projects.

We’re now in the lull after the holidays.  We took our trip to see his family for the New Year.  All the shopping and spending is done.  I’d say he’s depressed if I didn’t have him looking in on us when he comes down to use the bathroom and giving a little smile seeing how the scarfs I’m crocheting for the girls are progressing.  He’s eating, it’s not affecting his appetite.

I’m having him make arrangements with the kids for a gathering here at the house this weekend and I am hoping the forecasted snow doesn’t keep his eldest son busy plowing. Well, I’ll tell him if there is enough snow to keep the big guy busy that means there will be enough snow to take the little ones sleigh riding.  We’ll have to get those old flexible flyers and saucers out of the shed.  I haven’t been sleigh riding in years but I’m not too old or out of shape to take the run down the hillside.

I love writing, it’s where I find the answers and what keeps my spirits high.  Wooo-hooo, let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!

Image: Evan Sklar: Some Serious Sleigh Riding

What are your plans for the weekend?  How do men keep busy when unemployed?  I’d be interested in feed back. Please leave your comments.



About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Writing to Find Solutions

  1. Southern Man says:

    Many men feel lost when idle time is in abundance. We are wired to earn, to provide for and our emotional self worth is tied to it. Simply put, we just don’t know what to do with ourselves and are frustrated by it just as you are but don’t know how to deal with it. Experience tells me when a man gets focused, things happen. Good luck to you!

    • Aligaeta says:

      SM, thanks for your support and encouragement. I know it is time to step back and let him work through this and he will. In the mean time I’ll keep him busy with the kids: as a reminder to what it’s all about and look forward to the snow : ) Does it make you miss NY?

      • Southern Man says:

        Not at all… my blood has thinned out and at my age, cold bothers me to know end.

        As I think further about your blog and what I did… I jogged, I read, I practiced my craft knowing 1 day a door will open and when it did, I was prepared to make myself vital to their organization. Basically I did my best to keep my mind busy versus taking my mind off things. It is the way I am wired and it worked for me.

      • Aligaeta says:

        Cold bothers me too. And surprise, surprise, I didn’t fall apart but have been exercising my mind… Jogging FT. LOL Your remarkable. I guess we all get through in our own way.

  2. nibudd says:

    At the moment I’m employed part-time. Very part-time. I’m in the hiring process for a very exciting full-time position, but there’s been a lot of feet-dragging (though I don’t think it’s been intentional). Needless to say I’ve had a lot of spare time. For a good while, there wasn’t much to occupy my time. Movies and TV shows would eat up some hours. I began to read a whole lot, which I find more gratifying than watching a show or movie, but that still doesn’t fill my need to be accomplishing something. I had made a goal for myself to take up hockey this past summer, so that’s also taken up some time, but only one night a week for the most part.
    So far, my most fruitful use of my time has been starting this blog. I thought about it for a good long while, and finally decided to do it, and it’s been a great benefit to me ever since.
    If he’s into writing, I’d suggest that he start a blog. It can be a very engrossing process, and it can grow on interests he already has by reaching out to other like-minded bloggers and blogs. And best of all – it’s free.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Well best of luck with the prospective job! I’ve been out of work 53 weeks, went back to finish up my BA, started this blog, I’m presently making scarfs (crocheting) for all the girls in the family and baking a lot of bread. My man is out of work 6 months, I wish he was into writing to understand my passion to blog. So there’s been lots of movies and tv shows, in the warmer months there is so much more for him to do. Thanks for your comment, I’m happy to have you reading my blog – welcome!

  3. Jerry says:

    I’ll hire him. I currently have a very large pile of rice and would like to know the exact number of grains this pile contains. The salary consists of all you can eat rice with a huge retroactive bonus of even more rice. This position is likely to go fast, just letting you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

