The Art of Versatility

I believe my greatest asset is my versatility.  I plunge with passion from one topic to another in my writing.  I adjust as life throws its left hook, quick jab, and upper cut.  In my studies I simultaneously carried two majors: English and Sociology each semester whether part-time or full-time balancing class loads between the two curriculums.   In my leisure, for example: I’ll be crocheting the second scarf before tieing on the tassels to the first.  I’ll be watching a television program while reading and baking while writing.

My minds always going and this is not a problem it’s how I function, it is how I find fulfillment, it’s how I get everything done.  It’s not that I am bored.  It’s that I am interested in multiple projects and multiple perspectives.  Some might conclude I have ADHD, Attention Deficit Hyper-Activity Disorder, and could take a pill to make it stop and perhaps I would if I was facing burn out but this is how I fly.  It would drive anyone with OCD, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, out of their mind.  But it’s not a disorder it’s productivity.  The bread is not burning, the scarfs will be finished, and the writings get posted.

This versatility has caused me with some trouble however when reading, which as one might imagine to pose a problem being an English major.  You see: I always wanted to stop and write when there were reading assignments to finish.  And then it became a blessing when I took that autobiography writing course where we were instructed to read until we found something in the work which inspired us to write.  No problem, everything I read inspires me to write.  I find connections all over the place: in that word, in that plot, in that setting, and in that character.  It brings me here, there, and everywhere, as if my mind was trapped in the world of Dr. Seuss: not a bad place for a writer to be.

As you see, I can be versatile and meander all over the place as everything is related.  In my mind I see where I need to tie off the tassels before the bread is ready to come out of the oven to be ready for life’s next jab.  

“Please pass me some Green Eggs and Ham… thank you, thank you, Sam-I-Am

 

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Art of Versatility

  1. Thank you for stopping by my site and commenting. I agree with you that adult books should have ratings. Would a wonderful idea!

    I really enjoyed reading this post. I often wish I was more versatile. I loved all your Dr. Seuss references. Being stuck in that world is a fun place to be as a writer. I will return to read more of your posts.

    • Aligaeta says:

      Welcome Haley! I’m glad you enjoyed my post and are planning to be back for more. My favorite Dr. Seuss book is “Oh, the Places You’ll Go” and I didn’t read and relate to that one till adulthood. I buy it as gifts for HS graduations.

      As the years go by, the experiences mount and more and more things get juggled. Then there is more to write about as we reminisce and experiences gain new meaning. I remember in my twenties thinking I want to write but I don’t know what I want to write about. The years have brought me experience and I’d like to think wisdom. I feel as if I should be a hundred, when I am not half that, yet.

      My best to you.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Love Dr. Seuss (I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read Green Eggs and Ham and The Grinch That Stole Christmas to the boys.) When I told my younger son we were going to the doctor for his 4-year checkup last year (read: shots) he got his pouty face and said, “No! I want to go see Dr. Seuss!” Now, that’s what I think of whenever Dr. Suess comes up.

    I wish I could say I was as versatile as you are – but that would be a lie. Good for you for keeping busy and getting it all done! If it’s not broken, don’t fix it…

    • Aligaeta says:

      Oh Janna, that’s funny. Do you have a picture of that ‘pouty’ face on the top of your tree? J/K And I wanted to say that I am glad you found the humor in the comment I left you about starting all over and not take offense.

      As for the versatility, the irony here is that Dr. Seuss wasn’t at all on my mind when I was writing the post until I typed “here, there,” and then, Dr. Seuss became the tassel to the story, “everywhere.”

      It can be overwhelming allowing your stories to meander in a stream of conscience style, having to tie up all those loose ends. I actually thought ‘I could never be a writer’ until I read Faulkner. After your encouraging words to start writing my story I did. I started and stopped at 2800 words. What I did was I began telling the story working hard as hell to stay on track and lost my writers voice doing so. I put in away. I noted where I have to introduce characters and stopped again. I need to read it with fresh eyes to see if in fact I lost the voice or if it’s just my voice organized.

      But I’ll tell you: I just love blogging. Short stuff is so much fun!

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    As you have probably gathered by reading a few of my posts, if you were to peer inside my brain….it would be Dr. Seuss City!…… Glad to meet another person with the same affliction! 🙂 Have a great day!

  4. Southern Man says:

    When I first started in the Sales and Consulting worlds my mentor gave me a book and told me all I would ever need to understand my new world were in it’s few pages. That book was Green Eggs and Ham.

    From a sales perspective it is about staying with it and not taking “No” for an anwer because most sales occur after man “no’s”. It also teaches about changing your pitch and tailoring it to your audience…

    Great book, I still have it!

    • Aligaeta says:

      I can see how that works. Another book you recommended to me has helped me greatly as I search for new direction “Who Moved the Cheese?” So as much as I am non-corporate, there are valid lessons that can be learned from that perspective, to life in general.

      • Southern Man says:

        Because there are life lessons everywhere. Books, movies, TV, blogs and observation. There are too many to list but if you are capable and open to thought, a life lesson can unfold.

Leave a Reply

