Scrapes From My Childhood For Rich

I’m not sure of the year but I was a child when this strange woman arrived at my grandparent’s apartment in NYC.   It was Christmas and she came in toting shopping bags filled with toys for my brother and me.  She was dressed differently than anyone I’d seen before: hot pants, stockings, and high boots.  My best guess it was 1969.  I then learned she was an aunt I’d never heard of, my father’s youngest sister.  And as mysteriously as she arrived in my life she would disappear again, for another few years.

When I saw my aunt the next time her dress was ordinary and she had people… a husband, a baby, and my two cousins: Kevin was who my age and Melissa who was one year older.  I was amazed when I found out where they had been.

From the time they were toddlers, a wonderful woman raised Kevin and Melissa in Brooklyn.  They were in foster care for what I can estimate to have been ten years before they were once again with their mother and became part of my life.

To Rich and all of the wonderful foster parents out there, thank you for your love and for raising children for parents who are not able.  For Kevin and Melissa their return would not be without turbulence; but it was you who gave them the strength and foundation to endure.  God Bless you.

 

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrapes From My Childhood For Rich

  1. Bryan says:

    I followed your link from Rich’s blog. Well-stated. Once again I see the importance of folks who parent for those who are unable. God Bless.

  2. Rich says:

    Thank you so much for sharing that story…that’s exactly the kind of things that we foster parents need to hear. Knowing that even when we don’t get to chance to see these children as they grow up, the love & support we are blessed to share can make a lasting difference–that is precisely what makes it worth it. Even in the hard times!
    Thank you for sharing another glimpse into your family–it’s truly a blessing to mine!

  3. Aligaeta says:

    Rich; I felt compelled to share my glimpse into the life of the foster care children after the return to their birth mother after reading your story, wanting you all to see the difference that you make. I was brief, it not being my story to tell. Having never met the foster mom, I can tell you the impression I received of her was one of love and devotion.
    I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been for her to return my beautiful, loving, personable, cousins (of which I give her credit) to their mother, even when it then appeared their birth mother was capable of parenting and giving the world to them.
    Being a foster parent must take incredible selflessness, and love.
    Some years back, I had taken in my young niece while my sister was making changes in her life. Although she was only with me a few weeks and will always be in my life: family as it is, within, I struggled letting her go back to her mother.

Leave a Reply

