Treasured Friends

I am fortunate to have these two special friends in my life.  This year, after once again reconnected through Christmas cards, I was happy to have had the opportunity to visit with them when Michael and I made our trip down to Long Island.

It’s difficult keeping in touch after moves, divorces, illnesses, and time passing by, but there are just some friends, you know who they are, who will always be friend for they possess a special place in your heart.

Peter and Maureen are long time friends of the family, they were the generation in between me and my parents and growing up in Levittown, we spent a lot of time in their company at my parents house, through all my adolescent years. It wasn’t until we were saying our good-byes this visit that I realized and said “You guys were like my big brother and big/little sister”, being much taller than Maureen, I affectionately added.

In the car going home Michael commented “I didn’t realize they were older than you.  I always thought they were your friends from high school.”  For Michael, Peter and Maureen were neighbor’s of ours in Massapequa, their daughter was in Michael’s grade growing up and her parent’s were my dear friends from the past.

Michael was surprised as our conversation went from his grandparents, his great aunts and uncles, to his aunt and uncle: my brother and sister, his estranged father, his step-father, then his brother and sisters, and Phyllis my childhood friend.  ‘Wow, these people know the whole family!’  We spoke of their children, and we spoke of people he didn’t know: their extended family. To Michael’s surprise, I share a history with them of thirty-five years. And Peter would point out to Michael that he knew me, his mother when I was twelve years old, before he even met his wife.

There we were, Michael all grown up now, the next generation, hanging out with Peter and Maureen.  Now, that’s what I call “Priceless”.

Did you take the time to reconnect with those special people from your past this holiday season?  Will you promise to reward yourself with their presence in the New Year?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Treasured Friends

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad you got to catch up with some old friends.

    Christmas is the one time a year that I actually get to down to writing a letter to a riend of mine that I went to Junior High with. Right before my Sophmore year, we moved to Arizona because that’s where my dad had a job. Since then, we catch up on our year, all in 2-3 page letters that come in the Christmas cards.

  2. Cayman Thorn says:

    I actually had dinner with my ex in-laws last night. They have invited me to have dinner with them on so many occasions since my divorce but I always felt it was inappropriate since I wasn’t their son in law any longer. I have spent a lot of time with them over the years since the divorce, but always with my kids.

    After last night I understand my hesitation to have been misplaced.

    • Aligaeta says:

      I understand such a gathering to be questionable and with hesitation. I think divorce is the hardest with the many lost relationships that result. I’m glad you found the “hesitation to have been misplaced.” Thanks for sharing your comment. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

