(1+3)+(1+2)=Our New Family

The family has grown as this year, our third Christmas together has finally gone from: his and mine to ours.

We each have one eldest son from our first marriages; 22 & 27, both who were local this year to spend time with us this holiday season.  I have three, and he has two, from our second marriages.  Mine: 17, 18, & 19 and His 9 & 11.  Uniting our families one might feel was long overdue, yet we forged ahead with caution.

The traditional family, like my brother’s: One husband, one wife, and five children all raised together under one roof through good times and bad is admirable.  My man and I though our own experiences with marriage are not interested in going it a third time and ’till death does us part’ seems as much a fable as ‘and they lived happily ever after’, although these are our expectations, we are not planning on going it before man and God.

Then there is the subject of family: brotherhood and sisterhood. The anticipated union, the laughter, the enjoyment of each others company, a long time awaited for (by me and by him), (by them?) under one roof, together in the tiny farmhouse at last.   It will be a Christmas we will always treasure: Our new family.

Happy New Year!

It’s hard to know when it’s the right time, especially with the young ones.  I always feared they may have felt excluded.  I don’t know if the right time may have been long ago, I do know yesterdays gathering felt right.  What has been your experience?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to (1+3)+(1+2)=Our New Family

  1. jannatwrites says:

    I’m glad both of your families got to spend Christmas together. If the gathering felt right, then I think your timing is just fine 🙂

  2. Artswebshow says:

    I understand how such gatherings could potentially be awkward but from the sounds of it, there was nothing to worry about,
    It was the right time

Leave a Reply

