Writing Prompts

When reading I am either bored or totally engaged in the topic.  The first paragraph generally determines my interest.  When I read something engaging I become distracted by my own thoughts and feel urged to write and get all ooh, ooh, ooh, as I did when reading this quote.

Quote of the Moment

It happens to us once or twice in a lifetime to be drunk with some book which probably has some extraordinary relative power to intoxicate us and none other; and having exhausted that cup of enchantment we go groping in libraries all our years afterwards in the hope of being in Paradise again.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson in a letter to Sam Ward

Quote posted to a sidebar @How to Write a Sentence | So Many Books by Stefanie

This quote would describe how I experienced “East of Eden” by John Steinbeck.Although, this wasn’t the first thought that this quote sparked.  When I read: “to be drunk with some book” taking this completely out of context, I was no longer sitting at home at my computer reading this quote but on that last flight to Florida drunk with a book.  I’ll confess I had a drink before boarding and a few more in flight to ease my nerves.

In studying literature I realized: Some works, are meant to be read, while enjoying a glass of wine or two.  On that flight to Florida I learned Jeff Kinney’s “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” can bring an adult to roar with laughter in public places after kicking back a few and perhaps could bring on that effect even cold sober.

Parents go steal those “Wimpy Kid” books from your child’s room when you’re in need of a good laugh.  If that’s not for you, I highly recommend Steinbeck.

Do you get that urge to write when reading?  Have you read any of Kinney’s “Wimpy Kid” series?  What great book does Emerson’s quote remind you of?

Share your comments.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing Prompts

  1. jannatwrites says:

    My older son has that Diary of a Wimpy kid book. I’ve seen it around the house somewhere…(our house is like a picture in one of those I Spy books, so I may never find it.) When I lay my hands on it, I’ll have to give it a read. Thanks 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mom, I’m So Into This Book” « The Schizophrenic Writer

Leave a Reply

