Who’s Coming Home?

OMG, another person in this tiny farmhouse for Christmas!  Can it be true?  I heard from the reliable sibling, Sarah that Michael her gypsy brother with be arriving upon us, via bus, for Christmas.  It’s not like he hasn’t been in this tiny house and bitched about the lack of space in which to move, as we all are bumping into one another.  In spite of this, he will be arriving and I don’t know how long he will be staying or whose bed he thinks he will be stealing, for the number of nights unknown.

I did get nervous when he wouldn’t give me an address to send his presents or a Wal-Mart store nearby for ship to store near his Colorado Springs location.  Last year, when he was in Seattle, his presents shipped to the apartment were stolen and I feared such a catastrophe befalling him once again.

I thought about when he was in the service and surprised us for Christmas and each year I wonder will it be this year that he does this again?  He had posted his status on facebook recently debating a location change… Seattle or NYC which will it be?  The last thing I need is another unemployed person living in my house.

Sarah indicated Michael’s final destination to be sharing a house on LI with a friend, so I shouldn’t panic over the idea of a long stay.  I love my son.  I miss him.  I wish I had more to offer.  I’m off to the mall to pick up some more presents.  My boy is arriving.  He will be home for Christmas.

They’ll be plenty of food, I just remembered that ham, actually a favorite of his.  That four pound box of shrimp in the freezer, far too much, is now just right.  Merry, merry, this overwhelmed mom wishes all, as I leave to finish decking the halls.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

