Land Line vs. Cellular Devices

I don’t know why I keep a land line.  It might be because it’s part of my package, Computer Server, Cablevision, and Telephone?  I have had this package long before my Verizon Wireless plan, before each of my children had cell phones.

Who calls this land line?  Solicitors, Marketers, and Bill Collectors, non of which I wish to speak to.  Would all the ‘ters’ and ‘tors’ go away if I cancelled my land line?  Or, will they simply find a way, wasting away my minutes to harass me via cell phone?

When a call comes through on the land line, if one of my teens should actually pick it up, will they answer it with a polite “Hello”?  Or will their greeting be…

“WHAT DO YOU WANT?”

not a good opening for a prospective employer on the line, and who can control moody teens.  So, on many resumes I send out I leave my cell phone for the contact number, to avoid such embarrassment and the chance of a negative first impression.

Living in the valley, I have the best provider, but that doesn’t mean I’ll have a clear connection when I’m in my house.  I’ve found after speaking with the H.R. Representative that I had incorrectly heard the location site for the interview as Island Rd. when mapping the directions, it was actually Highland Rd.  What else didn’t I hear correctly?  Is Mr. Ass actually Mr. Brass?  I’ll have to Google Mr. Ass at XYZ Corporation just to make sure I won’t be the ASS at the interview.

I am most fortunate when I find a voice mail on my cell and can control such excitement to remember to return the call via land line to avoid any such miscommunications.  Now, how do I tell Mr. Ass to pick up the device and get us off speaker?

COMMENTS APPRECIATED

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Land Line vs. Cellular Devices

  1. Southern Man says:

    Two thoughts..

    1 – if you keep the landline, get on the SAG do not call list and the DMA do not call list. That will get rid of the “ters” but not the “tors”. Get rid of the landline and register your cell numbers with the national dnc registery. Continue to use your landline number for surveys, reqrds programs… this way if anyone is selling your info, you minimize it.

    2 – When on speaker phone, I always ask if there is static or an echo on the line and aske if I can be taken off speaker phone to check. Then I politely thank them claiming it is much better.

    You will find a tactful way to make it happen. for that, I am sure.

    SM

    • Aligaeta says:

      Are you leaving all this research up to me? SAG, DMA: should I google these to know what your talking about? How is it that you are so wise? I’m on the forever search for tactfulness. Always appreciate your guidance.

      • Southern Man says:

        I am awful about using acronyms without explanation – Sorry

        SAG – State Attorney General
        DMA – Direct Marketing Association

        As for wisdom… it is convergence of thought and experience, usually an unpleasant one. I can’t help with tact. That is an innate skill.

        Selling something or onself on the phone is very hard since communication is both silent and spoken. Speak slowly and completely and most of all, do not over speak! Restate questions when appropriate and smile. Smiles can be heard on the phone!

        Lastly, prepare, prepare, prepare. Anticipate all questions about professional background, goals (short & long term), ideas… This will allow you to maintain momentum during the call rather than making the call choppy and ackward which leads to other people getting the gig.

        Use words in the conversation that are action oriented and are in the job description!

    • Aligaeta says:

      Oh, that’s right as I was dabbling with the Arts and Social Sciences; you were engaged in the world of Big Business.

  2. Aligaeta says:

    Not at all an over step… I am actually impressed by your knowledge and the way your analytical mind works.

Leave a Reply

