How, I Will Get Through…

Santa Claus can come anytime now: the house is clean.  The chimney is swept… no I’m kidding.  But I’ve gotten the piles of stuff that accumulated sorted and put away.  And everything is scrubbed.  The next few days will be spent baking those holiday favorites.

I am also going to make some new ornaments for the tree.  I am feeling very creative.  I want to be festive and not give into the negativity of my situation.  I will put forth my effort on only the things that I have control over!

I’ll wrap the presents.  I have two more Christmas cards left to get out.  This is it, then I’m done.  I have far too much time on my hands and this is no good.  I’ll write the bills early, remembering the busy postal service this time of year and the holiday closings.  Nothing will be forgotten or left untaken-care-of.

I will play my favorite holiday tunes and sing in the kitchen to Bing Crosby’s, White Christmas. Happy hour may just have to start at three!  Kidding, better idea: cookies and coffee at three, then everyone will be happy.

It has been a real challenge acting as if everything’s okay.  But there is no other way.  I will not be dragged down.  I’m sure there will be work again sometime early in the New Year.  I will have a positive outlook.  I will be thankful for what I do have.  I will be brave.

I will watch: It’s a Wonderful Life, and think of our friend George Bailey “The riches man in town!”  And be thankful of my own riches.

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How, I Will Get Through…

  1. mimibear says:

    [George has discovered his brother Harry’s tombstone]
    Clarence: [explaining] Your brother, Harry Bailey, broke through the ice and was drowned at the age of nine.
    George Bailey: That’s a lie! Harry Bailey went to war – he got the Congressional Medal of Honor, he saved the lives of every man on that transport.
    Clarence: Every man on that transport died! Harry wasn’t there to save them, because you weren’t there to save Harry.

    My favorite part. It’s when I remember how many lives I have “saved” by a single act or kind word. How just a simple thing can ripple into a whole lifetime of wonderful things. Yes Aligaeta, you have had a wonderful life!

    Enjoy the movie

    • Aligaeta says:

      Thanks Mimi; It’s my favorite movie. I’ve been watching it since childhood. It’s one of those movies that even though you know how its going to end, you still cry. My daughter, Sarah and I were talking about such endings yesterday, the ones that make you cry again and again. Do you know this movie… “I wanted it to be you.” “Don’t cry, Shopgirl.” he says as he’s wiping her tears.
      Thank you for your kind words.

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Now, that’s the spirit. If you can’t BE happy, fake it – negativity is sneaky…once it gets you down, it’s really hard to get back up. I hope you do have a merry Christmas (in case I don’t get to visit your blog until after…the next few days are gonna be nuts!)

  3. Pingback: Jingle Bells, Hiring Froze…la, la, la, la, la | Aligaeta's Blog

  4. Aligaeta says:

    Hey Janna;
    Merry Christmas to you and your family also! Tomorrow is the anniversary of my job being downsized and my subsequent unemployment. I find comfort in the numbers beside me on the virtual unemployment line. Humor is all I have left. Smiles to you, my writing buddy.

Leave a Reply

