Oscar the Grouch-A Fixture on My Tree

The Grouch ornament was purchase many years ago when the kids were little.  It stayed the husband didn’t.  The Grouch then turned into a representation of my son, Matthew.  Proud to be emulating his father in his grumpy disposition.  Year after year, the ornament hung without much thought.

Other ornaments: symbolizations of the marriage were let go one after another, year after year.  Only Oscar remains, its symbol transferred.

Oscar is also, alive a well on my sister-in-laws Facebook profile.  And without a doubt it does well to capture her disposition.  Yes, it’s quite an amusing image for this mother of five who works in the field of education.  Yes, she’s quite loveable and if you really know her, you know she can be quite grumpy.

What surprised me, after three years with this man of mine was to learn he didn’t know who Oscar was.  When I told him, he was so surprised to hear, Dorrie had claimed this tag.  Now, he has only seen my dear sister-in-law in social situations not in the throw of what life has to offer the mother of five, that makes her groan!  See “Alice”: Holding On To Tradition | Aligaeta’s Blog where she takes on a house with no curtains on Thanksgiving with ease.

It gets even funnier when I tell him this ornaments is Matthew’s, and he laughs and says “Are you sure it’s not the other one’s” my moody ‘freshie’ Melissa’s.  I roar, as being in the mist of these growing adolescent’s I’ve missed the shift in personalities and now the ‘freshie’ has become Oscar.

And this was without explaining the significance of the garbage can.  You should see her room!

Do you have an Oscar in your life?  And, do they proudly claim the title?

About Aligaeta

I am a life time resident of NY State. A graduate of Nassau Community College, AA in Liberal Arts and Queens College, BA in English and Sociology. I am the mother of four children, the survivor of divorce, and I love to write in prose. This blog will be a record of my journey... destination unknown. Read more... https://aligaeta.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Family, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

